Locus Online

page 2
page 1

page 2
page 1




news, magazines, webzines

February 1999

Nebula Awards final ballot

The Science-fiction and Fantasy Writers of America has released the final ballot for the 1998 Nebula Awards. Winners will be announced during the Nebula Awards Weekend in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, April 30 - May 2, 1999.

  • The Death of the Necromancer, Martha Wells (Avon Eos Jul 1998)
  • Forever Peace, Joe Haldeman (Ace Oct 1997)
  • How Few Remain, Harry Turtledove (Del Rey Oct 1997)
  • The Last Hawk, Catherine Asaro (Tor Nov 1997)
  • Moonfall, Jack McDevitt (HarperPrism Apr 1998)
  • To Say Nothing of the Dog, Connie Willis (Bantam Spectra Jan 1998)
  • novella
  • "Aurora in Four Voices", Catherine Asaro (Analog Dec 1998)
  • The Boss in the Wall, A Treatise on the House Devil, Avram Davidson & Grania Davis (Tachyon Publications Aug 1998)
  • "Ecopoiesis", Geoffrey A. Landis (SF Age May 1997)
  • "Izzy and the Father of Terror", Eliot Fintushel (Asimov's Jul 1997)
  • "Jumping Off the Planet", David Gerrold (SF Age Jan 1998)
  • "Reading the Bones", Sheila Finch (F&SF Jan 1998)
  • novelette
  • "Echea", Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov's Jul 1998)
  • "Lethe", Walter Jon Williams (Asimov's Sep 1997)
  • "Lost Girls", Jane Yolen (Twelve Impossible Things Before Breakfast Harcourt Brace 1997; Realms of Fantasy Feb 1998)
  • "The Mercy Gate", Mark J. McGarry (F&SF Mar 1998)
  • "Time Gypsy", Ellen Klages (Bending the Landscape: Science Fiction Overlook Press Oct 1998)
  • "The Truest Chill", Gregory Feeley (SF Age Nov 1997)
  • short story
  • "Fortune and Misfortune", Lisa Goldstein (Asimov's May 1997)
  • "Standing Room Only", Karen Joy Fowler (Asimov's Aug 1997)
  • "Tall One", K.D. Wentworth (F&SF Apr 1998)
  • "Thirteen Ways to Water", Bruce Holland Rogers (Black Cats and Broken Mirrors DAW Jun 1998)
  • "When the Bow Breaks", Steven Brust (The Essential Bordertown Tor Sep 1998)
  • "Winter Fire", Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov's Aug 1997)
  • This year's ballot marks the first Nebula nominations for Asaro (as well as her second), Brust, Davis, Finch, Fintushel, Klages, McGarry, and Wells, and the second ever for Feeley, Turtledove, and Wentworth. The record for Nebula wins is held by Connie Willis, who has been nominated eleven times before and won six times, while Joe Haldeman has three wins for six prior nominations. Gerrold, Landis, Yolen, and Rogers have each won once before. Avram Davidson has now, posthumously, earned his tenth nomination without ever having won -- the record for most Nebula nominations without a win. Other never-winners nominated this year are Walter Jon Williams and Karen Joy Fowler, each with six previous nominations, and Jack McDevitt and Kristine Kathryn Rusch, each with four.

    (Tuesday 23 Feb 1999)

    Arthur C. Clarke Honored on Postage Stamps

    Reuters reports that Sri Lanka issued two stamps last Friday, Feb. 19th, bearing the portrait of Arthur C. Clarke. The stamps, which also carry an outline of geosynchronous orbiting satellites and spacecraft, are valued at 3.50 rupees (0.05 US cents).

    Clarke, who worked in a post office in southwestern Britain in his school days, is quoted as saying ''I certainly never imagined when I sorted the mail in (my hometown) Bishops Lydeard Post Office 65 years ago that there would someday be stamps bearing my portrait.'' The release ceremony took place at Colombo's Galle Face Hotel, where Clarke wrote 3001: The Final Odyssey.

    (Tuesday 23 Feb 1999)

    Harry Stubbs (Hal Clement) is next SFWA Grand Master

    The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) has announced that Harry Clement Stubbs, who writes under the name Hal Clement, will be named the 1998 Grand Master at this year's Nebula Awards banquet, May 1st in Pittsburgh. The Grand Master award is given by SFWA to recognize ''a lifetime of achievement in science fiction or fantasy writing.''

    Known as one of the premier writers of ''hard'' science fiction -- SF rigorously grounded in known science -- Clement is best known for his novel Mission of Gravity (1954), a book ranked among the all-time best SF novels by Locus readers in 1975, 1987, and 1998. A 1970 sequel, Star Light, was a Hugo nominee. More recently, Clement won a special Retro-Hugo Award in 1996 for ''Uncommon Sense'' as the best short story of 1945.

    More on Clement, and the complete list of previous Grand Masters, is available on the SFWA website.

    (Monday 22 Feb 1999)

    February News, 1st page:

  • Awards: SFCD-Literaturpreis 1999
  • New Awards: Spectrum;
  • European Awards: Kurd Lasswitz; Prix Ozone
  • 1999 Philip K. Dick Award Judges
  • Gary Jennings, 1928 - 1999
  • Raphael Carter wins Tiptree Award
  • Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist
  • Philip Klass is new SFWA Author Emeritus
  • Lambda Literary nominations
  • Eaton Award winner

  • TOP  
    © 1999 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.