Locus Online

page 4
page 3
page 2
page 1

page 1

page 2
page 1

page 2
page 1




news, magazines, webzines

April 1999

Hugo Awards Nominations

Aussiecon 3, the 57th annual World Science Fiction Convention, has released this year's nominations for the Hugo Awards and the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. Winners will be announced at the convention in Melbourne, Australia, Sept. 2 - 6, 1999.

  • Children of God, Mary Doria Russell (Villard)
  • Darwinia, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)
  • Distraction, Bruce Sterling (Bantam Spectra)
  • Factoring Humanity, Robert J. Sawyer (Tor)
  • To Say Nothing of the Dog, Connie Willis (Bantam Spectra)
  • novella
  • "Aurora in Four Voices", Catherine Asaro (Analog Dec 1998)
  • "Get Me to the Church On Time", Terry Bisson (Asimov's May 1998)
  • "Oceanic", Greg Egan (Asimov's Aug 1998)
  • "Story of Your Life", Ted Chiang (Starlight 2 Tor Nov 1998)
  • "The Summer Isles", Ian R. MacLeod (Asimov's Oct/Nov 1998)
  • novelette
  • "Divided by Infinity", Robert Charles Wilson (Starlight 2 Tor Nov 1998)
  • "Echea", Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov's Jul 1998)
  • "The Planck Dive", Greg Egan (Asimov's Feb 1998)
  • "Steamship Soldier on the Information Front", Nancy Kress (Future Histories 1997; Asimov's Apr 1998)
  • "Taklamakan", Bruce Sterling (Asimov's Oct/Nov 1998)
  • "Time Gypsy", Ellen Klages (Bending the Landscape: Science Fiction Overlook Sep 1998)
  • "Zwarte Piet's Tale", Allen Steele (Analog Dec 1998)
  • short story
  • "Cosmic Corkscrew", Michael A. Burstein (Analog Jun 1998)
  • "Maneki Neko", Bruce Sterling (F&SF May 1998)
  • "Radiant Doors", Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Sep 1998)
  • "The Very Pulse of the Machine", Michael Swanwick (Asimov's Feb 1998)
  • "Whiptail", Robert Reed (Asimov's Oct/Nov 1998)
  • "Wild Minds", Michael Swanwick (Asimov's May 1998)
  • related book
  • The Dreams Our Stuff Is Made Of: How Science Fiction Conquered the World, Thomas M. Disch (The Free Press)
  • The Hugo, Nebula & World Fantasy Awards, Howard DeVore (Advent:Publishers)
  • Science-Fiction: The Gernsback Years, Everett F. Bleiler (Kent State University Press)
  • Spectrum 5: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, Cathy Fenner & Arnie Fenner, eds. (Underwood Books)
  • The Works of Jack Williamson: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide, Richard A. Hauptmann (The NESFA Press)
  • dramatic presentation
  • Babylon 5: ''Sleeping in Light''
  • Dark City
  • Pleasantville
  • Star Trek: Insurrection
  • The Truman Show
  • professional editor
  • Gardner Dozois
  • Scott Edelman
  • David G. Hartwell
  • Patrick Nielsen Hayden
  • Stanley Schmidt
  • Gordon Van Gelder
  • professional artist
  • Jim Burns
  • Bob Eggleton
  • Donato Giancola
  • Don Maitz
  • Nick Stathopoulos
  • Michael Whelan
  • semiprozine
  • Interzone, David Pringle
  • Locus, Charles N. Brown
  • The New York Review of Science Fiction, Kathryn Cramer, Ariel Haméon, David G. Hartwell & Kevin Maroney
  • Science Fiction Chronicle, Andrew I. Porter
  • Speculations, Denise Lee
  • fanzine
  • Ansible, Dave Langford
  • File 770, Mike Glyer
  • Mimosa, Richard & Nikki Lynch
  • Plokta, Alison Scott & Steve Davies
  • Tangent, David A. Truesdale
  • Thyme, Alan Stewart
  • fan writer
  • Bob Devney
  • Mike Glyer
  • Dave Langford
  • Evelyn C. Leeper
  • Maureen Kincaid Speller
  • fan artist
  • Freddie Baer
  • Brad Foster
  • Ian Gunn
  • Teddy Harvia
  • Joe Mayhew
  • D. West
  • John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Not a Hugo)
  • Kage Baker*
  • Julie E. Czerneda*
  • Nalo Hopkinson*
  • Susan R. Matthews*
  • James Van Pelt*
    *second year of eligibility
  • Several of the categories have six or more nominations due to ties for 5th place. Michael Swanwick has three nominations in the short story category, an unprecedented situation on any major award ballot. (Norman Kagan had three novelettes on the very first Nebula Awards ballot, but that ballot was atypically long, with 19 nominations in the category that year.) Multiple nominees within a category often choose to withdraw one or more works to avoid self-competition; apparently Swanwick did not exercise that option.

    Swanwick now has the most cumulative nominations in fiction categories, 10, of any writer who has never won a Hugo (surpassing Michael Bishop with 9). The leading non-winners in all categories are also nominated again this year, editors David G. Hartwell and Stanley Schmidt, now with 20 nominations each.

    Mike Glyer now leads all others for total nominations, with 37. He's won 6 times before.

    Australian writer Greg Egan is on this year's ballot with his 4th and 5th Hugo nominations to date. First-time Hugo nominees this year include Mary Doria Russell, Catherine Asaro, Ian R. MacLeod, Robert Charles Wilson, and Ellen Klages.

    (Thu 22 April 1999)

    APRIL page 3
  • German Phantastic Awards
  • Ditmar nominations

    APRIL page 2

  • James Turner, 1945 - 1999

    APRIL page 1

  • SFWA to honor J. Michael Straczynski
  • BSFA Awards
  • Geoff Ryman wins Philip K. Dick Award
  • HOMer nominations
  • Stoker nominations
  • Sturgeon Award semi-finalists

  • TOP  
    © 1999 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.