Locus Online


News Log


2000 Archives





News Log
Links to News Elsewhere Online

Tuesday 30 May 2000

• Inductees into the Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame for 2000 are Poul Anderson, Gordon R. Dickson, Theodore Sturgeon, and Eric Frank Russell.

• A book by Josepha Sherman and T.K.Weisskopf is under fire in Ontario as being racist and homophobic.

iCulture 25 May

Wednesday 17 May 2000

• Finalists for the Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award for best short fiction of 1999 include stories by Judith Berman, Terry Bisson, Eleanor Arnason, Robert Reed, Ian R. MacLeod, Geoff Ryman...

Monday 15 May 2000

Bram Stoker award winners include Peter Straub, Brian A. Hopkins (also nominated for next weekend's Nebula Awards), Paula Guran, M. Night Shyalaman, and J.K. Rowling...

HOMer award winners are Asaro, Resnick, Arnason, Resnick, and The Matrix.

Thursday 11 May 2000

Forrest J Ackerman won rights to the name ''Dr. Acula'', while his former business associate, Ray Ferry, was found liable for breach of contract, libel and misrepresentation. Ackerman was awarded $382,500 in compensatory and $342,000 in punitive damages. Ray Bradbury and film director John Landis were among those who testified on Ackerman's behalf.

• Awards winners and nominations listed recently on the SFWA News webpage:

Tuesday 2 May 2000

Marion Zimmer Bradley's Fantasy Magazine will close with issue 50, later this year.

Ray Bradbury testified Monday on behalf of Forrest J Ackerman, in a lawsuit over legal rights to the moniker ''Dr. Acula''.


  April News Log

© 2000 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.