Locus Online


Hugo Awards Winners


2000 Archives





Saturday 2 September 2000

Hugo Awards Winners

The 2000 Hugo Awards were presented Saturday evening at Chicon 2000, the 58th World Science Fiction Convention in Chicago, Illinois.

Hugo Awards winners
Back row, left to right: Mike Glyer, Michael Walsh (accepting for Joe Mayhew), Vernor Vinge, Mike Resnick, Connie Willis, Gardner Dozois, James Patrick Kelly, Michael Swanwick, Robert Silverberg, Forrest J Ackerman; front row: Martin Hoare (accepting for Dave Langford), Don Maitz (accepting for Michael Whelan), Charles N. Brown (accepting for Locus and for Frank M. Robinson), Cory Doctorow, Robert Gordon & Dean Parisot (writer, director of Galaxy Quest); David Kyle

best novel
  • A Deepness in the Sky, Vernor Vinge (Tor)
  • best novella
  • "The Winds of Marble Arch", Connie Willis (Asimov's Oct/Nov 1999)
  • best novelette
  • "1016 to 1", James Patrick Kelly (Asimov's June 1999)
  • best short story
  • "Scherzo with Tyrannosaur", Michael Swanwick (Asimov's July 1999)
  • best related book
  • Science Fiction of the 20th Century, Frank M. Robinson (Collectors Press)
  • best dramatic presentation
  • Galaxy Quest (Dreamworks SKG; directed by Dean Parisot; screenplay by David Howard & Robert Gordon; story by David Howard)
  • best professional editor
  • Gardner Dozois
  • best professional artist
  • Michael Whelan
  • best semi-prozine
  • Locus, edited by Charles N. Brown
  • best fanzine
  • File 770, edited by Mike Glyer
  • best fan writer
  • Dave Langford
  • best fan artist
  • Joe Mayhew
  • §
    John W. Campbell Memorial Award for Best New Writer [not a Hugo]
  • Cory Doctorow
  • §

    In addition, the Big Heart Awards were presented by Forrest J Ackerman to Robert Silverberg, and by David Kyle to Jack Williamson (who was not present). Ackerman turned over further administration of the Big Heart Award, for the 21st century, to David A. Kyle.

    © 2000 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.