The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field
Locus Online
  
Sub Menu contents
Monitor

New in Paperback


late May
Stephen Baxter
Justin Cronin
Harry Harrison
Stephen King
China Miéville
Gary Shteyngart
S.M. Stirling
Benjamin Tate

early May
Iain M. Banks
Aimee Bender
Greg Egan
Jennifer Egan
Guy Gavriel Kay
Dani & Eytan Kollin
David Mitchell
Dan Simmons

2011 Directories




 

Drake, David : What Distant Deeps
(Baen 978-1439134450, $7.99, 500pp, mass market paperback, June 2011)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 31 May 2011
(First edition: Baen, September 2010)

Military SF novel, eighth in the "RCN" series following With the Lightnings, Lt. Leary, Commanding, The Far Side of the Stars, The Way to Glory, Some Golden Harbor, and When the Tide Rises, and In the Stormy Red Sky (2009).
• Baen's site has this description with links to several chapters.
• Amazon has the Publishers Weekly review: "Drake deftly weaves a web of political machinations and intrigue that vividly depicts the costs of war. Fans of Patrick O'Brian's Maturin and Aubrey novels will enjoy this intricate, rousing space opera."

(Wed 8 Jun 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)

|

Esslemont, Ian C. : Return of the Crimson Guard
(Tor 978-0-7653-6348-0, $8.99, 861pp, trade paperback, June 2011)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 24 May 2011
Malazan-Esslemont #2
(First edition: UK: Bantam Press, October 2008)

Fantasy novel set in the Malazan Empire, the world co-created by Esslemont and Steven Erikson, author of the 10-volume Malazan Book of the Fallen series. This is a sequel to Esslemont's novel Night of Knives (2009).
• This book concerns the return of a mercenary force intent on destroying the Malazan Empire.
• Tor's site has this description.
• Amazon has the starred Publishers Weekly review -- "In a long, bloody, explosive-filled battle to end all battles, Esslemont handily outdoes series cocreator Steven Erikson, evoking the gore and grit of the battlefield while cannily expanding the labyrinthine Malazan world and untangling the wickedly intertwined stories just enough to keep readers from feeling lost." -- and several 5-star reader reviews.

(Wed 8 Jun 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)

|

Flint, Eric, & Dave Freer : The Sorceress of Karres
(Baen 978-1-4391-3446-7, $7.99, 402pp, mass market paperback, June 2011)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 31 May 2011
(First edition: Baen, January 2010)

SF novel, sequel to The Wizard of Karres by these authors and Mercedes Lackey (2004), which was a sequel to the popular 1966 novel The Witches of Karres by James H. Schmitz.
• In this book Captain Pausert and two of the witches embark on a mission to the Chaladoor region of space.
• Baen's site has this description with links to the first several chapters.

(Wed 8 Jun 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)

|

Hogan, James P. : Migration
(Baen 978-1-4391-3447-4, $7.99, 418pp, mass market paperback, June 2011)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 31 May 2011
Migration #1
(First edition: Baen, May 2010)

SF novel about a post-apocalyptic civilization that rediscovers technology and builds a generation starship to migrate to another world.
• Baen's site has this description with links to several chapters.
• Amazon has one long 5-star reader review/plot synopsis that suggests the book is first of a series.

(Wed 8 Jun 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)

|

McCaffrey, Todd : Dragongirl
(Ballantine Del Rey 978-0-345-49117-6, $7.99, 454pp, mass market paperback, June 2011)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 7 Jun 2011
(First edition: Ballantine Del Rey, August 2010)

SF novel in Anne McCaffrey's Dragonriders of Pern series. This is the author's third solo novel in the series, following Dragonsblood (2006) and Dragonheart (2008); he also co-wrote three novels with Anne McCaffrey.
• In this book Fiona, a young dragonrider who has aged three years on a three-day trip into the past, returns to take on a position of authority.
• Del Rey's site has this description and an excerpt.
• The next book, Dragon's Time, is due in hardcover later this month.

(Wed 8 Jun 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)

|

Niven, Larry, & Edward M. Lerner : Betrayer of Worlds
(Tor 978-0-7653-6498-2, $7.99, 384pp, mass market paperback, June 2011)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 24 May 2011
Ringworld prequel #4
(First edition: Tor, October 2010)

SF novel, a "prelude" to Niven's Ringworld (1970) on the 40th anniversary of that book's publication. (There have been three previous prequels by these authors to Ringworld: Fleet of Worlds (2007), Juggler of Worlds (2008), and Destroyer of Worlds (2009).)
• In this book the authors reveal why Louis Wu was selected by the Puppeteers to explore the Ringworld in the first place.
• Tor's website has this description with an excerpt from the hardcover edition.
• Amazon also has an excerpt, and a dozen or so reader reviews.

(Wed 8 Jun 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)

|

Novik, Naomi : Tongues of Serpents
(Ballantine Del Rey 978-0-345-49690-4, $7.99, 355pp, mass market paperback, June 2011)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 7 Jun 2011
Temeraire #6
(First edition: Ballantine Del Rey, July 2010)

Fantasy novel, sixth in the Temeraire series about dragons used as weapons during the Napoleonic Wars, following the initial trilogy His Majesty's Dragon, Black Powder War, and Throne of Jade, which collectively won the Locus Award for Best First Novel, fourth book Empire of Ivory (2007), and fifth book Victory of Eagles (2008).
• In this book, Capt. Will Laurence and dragon Temeraire, trying to establish a new dragon colony while imprisoned in Australia, deal with military governor William Bligh.
• Del Rey's site has this description and an excerpt.

(Tue 14 Jun 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)

|

Reynolds, Alastair : Terminal World
(Ace 978-0-441-02043-0, $8.99, 550pp, mass market paperback, June 2011)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 31 May 2011
(First edition: UK: Gollancz, March 2010)

Far-future SF novel set in Spearpoint, a spire where different city-states operate to different physical laws, and maintain different levels of technology.
• The author's website calls it a "steampunk-influenced planetary romance about the adventures of an exiled pathologist, and a city in need of medicine..."
• The UK 1st edition publisher's site has this description with quotes from reviews.
• Russell Letson reviewed it for Locus Magazine: "I was pulled through this long, zig-zag story partly by the plot machine, partly by the ingenious and vivid settings, and partly by the underlying (or overarching) mysteries: How did the zones originate? What is Spearpoint, really? Is this even our universe? ... I will say that while the last movement completes the action, readers will be quite justified in expecting Reynolds to produce a sequel -- and it's going to require some fancy dancing to top the exotic scenery, special effects, set-pieces, and costume design of this one."
• The novel is included on the 2010 Locus Recommended Reading List.

(Wed 8 Jun 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)

|

Sanderson, Brandon : The Way of Kings
(Tor 978-0-7653-6527-9, $8.99, 1258pp, mass market paperback, May 2011)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 24 May 2011
Stormlight Archive #1
(First edition: Tor, August 2010)

Epic fantasy novel, first in a 10-book series, about a war over mystical weapons on a world wracked by power sweeps.
• Tor's site has this description, with an audio excerpt.
• Amazon's "Look Inside" function also has an excerpt.
• Amazon's reader reviews include an impressive 259 five-star reviews out of a total 361.

(Wed 1 Jun 2011) • Purchase this book from Amazon | BookSense • (Directory Entry)

|


New in Paperback: June 2011

posted 16 June 2011





This page lists selected newly published science fiction, fantasy, and horror books seen by Locus Online. (Locus Online does not have access to materials sent to Locus Magazine).

Review copies received will be listed (though reprints and reissues are on other pages), but not galleys or advance reading copies. Selections, some based only on bookstore sightings, are at the discretion of Locus Online.

* = first edition
+ = first US edition

Date with publisher info is official publication month; date in parentheses at paragraph end is date seen or received.













   
Locus Online is an associate of Amazon.com and Amazon.co.uk. Your purchase of books through these links (click on titles or covers) helps support Locus Online.


© 2011 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.