* Adams, Guy : The Good, the Bad and the Infernal
(Solaris 978-1781080894, $7.99, 320pp, mass market paperback, April 2013)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Heaven’s Gate #1

Fantasy novel, first of a trilogy, about a town that appears one day every hundred years, and is a doorway to Heaven.
• Solaris’ site has this description.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Ashgrove, Claire : Immortal Trust
(Tor 978-0-7653-6760-0, $7.99, 448pp, mass market paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 978-1429948661
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Curse of the Templars #3

Paranormal romance novel, third in a series following Immortal Hope and Immortal Surrender (both 2012), about a history professor who possesses a sacred artifact providing her contact with an immortal Templar Knight.
• Tor’s site has this description with an excerpt.
Publishers Weekly said of the second book, “Ashgrove’s serviceable prose and breakneck pacing provide an enjoyable bit of tempestuous escapism.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Battersby, Lee : The Marching Dead
(Angry Robot 978-0857662903, $7.99, 416pp, mass market paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 978-0857662910
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Marius don Hellespont #2

Fantasy novel, second in a series following the author’s debut novel The Corpse-Rat King (2012), about two professional looters of battlefields.
• Angry Robot’s site has this description with an excerpt.
Publishers Weekly gave the first book a starred review: “Wry, absurdist, and pleasantly cynical, Battersby’s debut will appeal to fans of Scott Lynch’s The Lies of Locke Lamora and Terry Pratchett’s Going Postal.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Christopher, Adam : The Age Atomic
(Angry Robot 978-0-85766-314-6, $14.99, 368pp, trade paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 978-0857663153
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Empire State #2

Steampunk superhero SF novel, second in a series after Empire State (2012), set in an alternate 1950s New York.
• Angry Robot’s site has this description with an extract.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Davidson, Jenny : The Magic Circle
(Houghton Mifflin Harcourt/New Harvest 978-0-544-02809-8, $15.95, 191pp, trade paperback, March 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: B009RRHTME
Audiobook ISBN [link to Amazon]: 978-1469283234
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013

Contemporary thriller about three women who invent a live-action role-playing game based on their neighborhood near Columbia University.
• The publisher, New Harvest, is a joint venture between Amazon Publishing and Houghton Mifflin Harcourt.
• Amazon’s “Look Inside” function provides a preview.
• Bookslut has this review by Walter Biggins.

(Thu 14 Mar 2013)
• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* D’Lacey, Joseph : Black Feathers
(Angry Robot 978-0857663450, $7.99, 496pp, mass market paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 978-0857663467
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Black Dawn #1

Fantasy novel, first of a duology, set in a post-apocalyptic Black Dawn and a far future era called Bright Day.
• Angry Robot’s site has this description with an extract.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Estep, Jennifer : Deadly Sting
(Pocket 9781451688993, $7.99, 400pp, mass market paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9781451689037
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Elemental Assassin #8

Urban fantasy novel, eighth in the Elemental Assassin series following Spider’s Bite (2010), Web of Lies, Venom, Tangled Threads, Spider’s Revenge, By a Thread, and Widow’s Web (2012), about assassin Gin Blanco in the southern city of Ashland.
• The publisher’s site has this description with an excerpt.
• The author’s website has this page about the series, with frequently asked questions, recipes, and explanations of runes.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Gustainis, Justin : Morris and Chastain Investigations: Play With Fire & Midnight at the Oasis
(Solaris 9781781080825, $7.99, 496pp, mass market paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: B00C10VYYI
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Morris and Chastain #4

Omnibus of two novels — apparently both original — in a series about occult investigator Quincey Morris and his witch consultant Libby Chastain, following Black Magic Woman (2008), Evil Ways (2009), and Sympathy for the Devil (2011).
• The first title was released separately for Kindle in December 2012.
• Solaris’ site has this description.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

+ Herbert, Brian, & Kevin J. Anderson : Hellhole: Awakening
(Tor 978-0-7653-2270-8, $27.99, 528pp, hardcover, March 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9781429949590
Audiobook ISBN [link to Amazon]: 978-1-4272-2911-3
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Hellhole #2

First US edition (UK: Simon & Schuster UK, February 2013)

Military SF novel, second book in a series, following Hellhole (2011), about desperate colonists on a ravaged planet.
• Macmillan’s site has this description with a trailer and audio excerpt.
Booklist gave the first book a starred review, calling it a “militaristic sf story of galactic proportions”.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Higgins, Peter : Wolfhound Century
(Orbit 9780316219679, $25.99, 303pp, hardcover, March 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9780316219709
Audiobook ISBN [link to Amazon]: 9781619693159
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013

Alternate history novel, the author’s first novel, set in an alternate Stalinist Russia.
• Orbit’s site has this interview with the author.
• Hachette’s site has this description with a preview function.
Publishers Weekly gives it a starred review: “Sentient water, censored artists, mechanical constructs, old-fashioned detective work, and the secret police are all woven together in this rich and fascinating tapestry.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Maberry, Jonathan : Extinction Machine
(St. Martin’s Griffin 978-0-312-55221-3, $15.99, 448pp, trade paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9781250026613
Audiobook ISBN [link to Amazon]: 9781427232069
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Joe Ledger #5

Horror thriller, fifth in a series following following Patient Zero (2009), The Dragon Factory (2010), The King of Plagues (2011), and Assassin’s Code (2012), about a Baltimore detective recruited by the US Department of Military Sciences to fight various terrorist threats.
• Macmillan’s site has this description with an excerpt.
• The Publishers Weekly review concludes, “Maberry digs deep into the body of lore concerning UFO conspiracy theories, fusing it with the anything-goes sensibilities of a series that’s previously pitted Joe against vampires and zombies. While there’s a kitchen-sink feel to the story’s various components, it somehow holds together in the end.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

+ McIntosh, Fiona : The Scrivener’s Tale
(Harper Voyager 978-0-06-223730-9, $14.99, 528pp, trade paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 978-0-06-223731-6
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013

Standalone fantasy novel set in contemporary Paris and in medieval Morgravia, setting of her trilogy “The Quickening”.
• HarperCollins’ site has this description with a preview function.
• The author has this site about the book, which was first published in Australia in 2012.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Robinson, Jeremy : Island 731
(St. Martin’s/Dunne 978-0-312-61787-5, $25.99, 352pp, hardcover, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9781250022592
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013

SF thriller about the discovery of an island in the Pacific where a World War II era Japanese human experimentation program may still be in progress.
• Parent publisher Macmillan’s site has this description with an excerpt.
Publishers Weekly gives this a starred review, calling it a “terrifying present-day riff on The Island of Dr. Moreau”, and concluding, “Action and scientific explanation are appropriately proportioned, making this one of the best Jurassic Park successors and on a par with Warren Fahy’s Fragment.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Sawyer, Robert J. : Red Planet Blues
(Ace 978-0-425-25682-4, $25.95, 368pp, hardcover, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9781101622216
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013

SF novel, expanded from 2005 Hugo and Nebula nominated novella “Identity Theft”, set in a frontier town on a Mars where fossils have been discovered.
• Penguin’s site has this description.
• The author’s site has this page for the book, with links to the opening chapters and to excerpts from reviews.
• Paul Di Filippo’s review of the book will be posted on Locus Online shortly.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Sylvan, Dianne : Of Shadow Born
(Ace 978-0-425-25980-1, $7.99, 336pp, mass market paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9781101622056
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
The Shadow World #4

Urban fantasy novel, fourth in a series about a woman able to manipulate people with her music who comes into contact with a society of vampires, following Queen of Shadows (2010), ShadowFlame (2011), and Shadow’s Fall (2012).
• Penguin’s site has this description.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Vaughn, Carrie : Kitty Rocks the House
(Tor 978-0-7653-6867-6, $7.99, 336pp, mass market paperback, April 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 978-1429955973
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013
Kitty Norville #11

Fantasy novel, eleventh book in the series following Kitty Steals the Show (2012), about werewolf radio talk show host Kitty Norville.
• Macmillan’s site has this description with an excerpt.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Whates, Ian, ed. : Solaris Rising 2
(Solaris 978-1781080887, $8.99, 448pp, mass market paperback, April 2013)
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 26 Mar 2013

Anthology of 19 original stories. Authors include Nancy Kress, Norman Spinrad, Allen Steele, Robert Reed, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, and Vandana Singh.
• Solaris’ site has this description.
• SF Signal has the table of contents.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|