* Anderton, Jo : The Bone Chime Song and Other Stories
(Australia: Fablecroft 978-0-9807770-9-3, $22.95, 220pp, hardcover, May 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 978-0-9874000-9-3
Nominal Publication Date: Wed 1 May 2013

Collection of 13 stories, two of them original to this book.
• The publisher’s site has this description with the table of contents.
• The Publishers Weekly review says, “Broken families in desperate situations are the core of Australian author Anderton’s debut collection. Billed as horror, it leans toward the apocalyptic and the fantastic rather than driving straight for scares. Regardless of setting, the stories focus on defiance of authority and the desperate lengths to which individuals will go to defend their fragments of family.”

• (Directory Entry)

|

* Armstrong, K. L., & M. A. Marr : Loki’s Wolves
(Little, Brown 9780316204965, $17, 358pp, hardcover, May 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9780316231107
Audiobook ISBN [link to Amazon]: 9781619696808
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 7 May 2013
The Blackwell Pages #1

Young adult novel, first of a series, about a 13-year-old boy from South Dakota who is chosen to be Thor’s representative.
• Hachette’s site has this description.
• Amazon’s “Look Inside” function provides a preview.
• The Publishers Weekly review concludes, “This rousing, fast-paced adventure, first in the Blackwell Pages trilogy, will please readers who loved John Stephens’s Books of Beginning and Rick Riordan’s modern-day twists on ancient myth. Ages 8–12.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Cremer, Andrea, & David Levithan : Invisibility
(Philomel 978-0-399-25760-5, $18.99, 320pp, hardcover, May 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9781101602881
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 7 May 2013

Young adult fantasy novel about a boy who is invisible and one girl who can see him.
• Penguin’s site has this description with an excerpt.
Publishers Weekly gives this a starred review: “The inventive, enrapturing story that follows involves spellseekers and a curse-casting grandfather, but Stephen’s and Elizabeth’s journey is largely about redemption, self-acceptance, and love. The authors hit all the right notes…”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* George, Jessica Day : Wednesdays in the Tower
(Bloomsbury 978-1-59990-645-4, $16.99, 240pp, hardcover, May 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9781619630512
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 7 May 2013
Tuesdays at the Castle #2

Young adult fantasy novel, sequel to Tuesdays at the Castle (2011), set in a castle that rearranges itself usually only on Tuesdays.
• Bloomsbury’s site has this description.
• Carolyn Cushman reviews it in the May issue of Locus Magazine: “Eventually some fascinating secrets about the history of the castle are revealed, but the ending is an annoying cliffhanger. At least it promises more wonders yet to be discovered in this engaging series.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Guignard, Eric J., ed. : After Death
(Stony Meadow/Dark Moon 978-0-9885569-2-8, $14.95, 291pp, trade paperback, April 2013)
Nominal Publication Date: Fri 5 Apr 2013

Anthology of 34 stories about what happens after we die.
• Authors include Steve Rasnic Tem, Lisa Morton, Bentley Little, Simon Clark, and John Langan.
• Amazon’s “Look Inside” function provides previews, including the table of contents.
• The Publishers Weekly review says, “Though the majority of the pieces come from the darker side of the genre, a solid minority are playful, clever, or full of wonder. This makes for good variety but a bit of emotional whiplash, somewhat mitigated by Guignard’s clever introductions and Audra Phillips’s portraitlike illustrations.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Haig, Matt : The Humans
(UK: Canongate 978-0857868756, £12.99, 304pp, trade paperback, May 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9780857868770
Nominal Publication Date: Thu 9 May 2013

SF novel about a professor whose life is changed when he solves the world’s greatest mathematical riddle (Riemann’s hypothesis).
• Canongate’s site has this description.
• Amazon’s “Look Inside” function provides a preview.
• The US edition is due in July from Simon & Schuster.
Publishers Weekly gives this a starred review: “Haig creates a delightful sense of displacement in “Andrew” and draws the reader into the experiences that make us human, ugly, wonderful, and mundane by turns.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon
• (Directory Entry)

|

* MacLeod, Ken : The Human Front
(PM Press/Outspoken Authors 978-1-60486-395-6, $12, 128pp, trade paperback, April 2013)
Nominal Publication Date: Wed 1 May 2013

Collection consisting of the title novella plus two essays and a bibliography. The series is edited by Terry Bisson.
• PM Press’ site has this description.
• Amazon’s “Look Inside” function provides a preview, including the table of contents.

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Massie, Elizabeth : Desper Hollow
(Apex 978-1-937009-14-4, $14.95, 226pp, trade paperback, June 2013)
Nominal Publication Date: Thu 18 Apr 2013

Zombie thriller about a mountain matriarch’s immortality moonshine recipe, and her granddaughter’s experiments with it.
• Amazon’s page has a description.
• The Publishers Weekly review begins, “Though Massie (Sineater) is an adept and imaginative fashioner of setting and character, her zombie thriller promises more than it delivers…”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* McCammon, Robert : I Travel By Night
(Subterranean 978-1-59606-537-6, $35, 152pp, hardcover, June 2013, jacket art Michael Whelan)
Nominal Publication Date: Fri 5 Apr 2013

Short horror novel about a wounded Confederate soldier turned vampire.
• Subterranean’s site has this description and order page.
• The Publishers Weekly review says, “Southern gothicist and paranormal historian McCammon combines the two genres in this fun, fast novella.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Percy, Benjamin : Red Moon
(Grand Central 978-1-4555-0166-3, $25.99, 544pp, hardcover, May 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9781455501687
Audiobook ISBN [link to Amazon]: 9781478952091
Nominal Publication Date: Thu 9 May 2013

Supernatural thriller about a race of shapeshifters called lycans who launch terrorist attacks against the US.
• Hachette’s site has a brief description with an audiobook excerpt.
• Amazon’s “Look Inside” function provides previews.
Publishers Weekly ran a longish review by Stefan Dziemianowicz, who wrote a longer review for the March issue of Locus Magazine, concluding Red Moon is an ambitious novel, and the extent of its ambitions are evident in several stunning plot twists that occur near the end of the book. For all of their surprises, they follow logically from Percy’s orchestration of his story’s events, and they show how, in skilled hands, a tale of the fantastic is a form of modern mythmaking.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Sasarman, Gheorghe : Squaring the Circle: A Pseudotreatise of Urbogony
(Aqueduct 978-1-61976-025-7, $16, 144pp, trade paperback, April 2013)
Nominal Publication Date: Mon 1 Apr 2013

Collection of 24 stories, from Romanian to Spanish by Mariano Martin Rodriguez, then selected and translated from the Spanish by Ursula K. Le Guin.
• Aqueduct’s site has this description
• The Publishers Weekly review says, “These trippy, cutting 24 stories, chosen by SF/F grande dame Le Guin from a collection of 36 originally published in Romanian in 1975, inevitably draw comparisons to Italo Calvino’s Invisible Cities.”
• Gary K. Wolfe reviews the book in the May issue of Locus Magazine, making the same comparison to Calvino, and commenting “Sasarman looks to be – and turns out to be – a very interesting writer who can straddle both the SF world and the sort of experimental postmodern fictions we’ve sometimes gotten tantalizing glimpses of from Eastern European writers.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Stohl, Margaret : Icons
(Little, Brown 9780316205184, $18, 448pp, hardcover, May 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9780316231992
Audiobook ISBN [link to Amazon]: 9781478952107
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 7 May 2013

Young adult fantasy novel, first of a series, about four teens who’ve survived human apocalypse and alien invasion.
• Hachette’s site has this description with a preview function.
• The Publishers Weekly review concludes, “Stohl’s world is a stereotypical totalitarian state, but Dol’s narrative voice is particularly vivid; the here-and-now character development, if not the SF trappings, will keep readers engrossed.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Wecker, Helene : The Golem and the Jinni
(HarperCollins 978-0-06-211083-1, $26.99, 496pp, hardcover, May 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 9780062110855
Audiobook ISBN [link to Amazon]: 9780062263056
Nominal Publication Date: Tue 23 Apr 2013

Fantasy novel, the author’s first novel, about two mythical creatures who immigrate to New York in the 19th century.
• Harper’s site has this description with a preview function.
• The Publishers Weekly review concludes, “The ending dips into melodrama, but the human touches more than compensate in Wecker’s spellbinding blend of fantasy and historical fiction.”
• Faren Miller reviewed it in the April issue of Locus Magazine: “The other characters turn out to be fascinating in their own right, some with back stories that extend to more openly occult times, but all of them anchored in one of the many classes and cultures of this highly complicated, turn-of-the-century city, with its ice cream vendors, heiresses, half-way houses and busy docks. There’s magic here, if you know where to look. But wonder can have many guises. The nonhuman newcomers find it in what the locals take for granted: our own world, on the verge of modern times.”

• Purchase this book from Amazon | Indiebound
• (Directory Entry)

|

* Wessely, Tehani, ed. : One Small Step: An Anthology of Discoveries
(Australia: FableCroft 978-0-9874000-0-0, $22.95, 240pp, trade paperback, May 2013)
Ebook ISBN [link to Amazon Kindle edition]: 978-0-9874000-1-7
Nominal Publication Date: Wed 1 May 2013

Anthology of 16 original stories.
• Authors include Deborah Biancotti, Thoraiya Dyer, Lisa L. Hannett & Angela Slatter, and Tansy Rayner Roberts.
• FableCroft’s site has this description with the table of contents.
• The Publishers Weekly review notes that “Many of the best stories are from writers virtually unknown in the U.S.” and concludes, “A very strong slate of stories marks Wessely as an editor to watch.”
• Lois Tilton reviewed the book for Locus Online.

• (Directory Entry)

|

* Wilkins, Kim : The Year of Ancient Ghosts
(Australia: Ticonderoga 978-1-921857-46-1, $25.99, 268pp, hardcover, June 2013)
Nominal Publication Date: Thu 9 May 2013

Collection of five novellas, two original to this book.
• Ticonderoga’s site has this page for the book, with links for purchasing.
• The Publishers Weekly review says, “Wilkins adds fantastic elements to her depiction of ages past and present, but rather than relying on standard fantasy tropes, her stories are informed by detailed research into the periods in question.”

• (Directory Entry)

|