The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar



2013 Winners

[* links to sfadb pages with nominee indexing and cover images]



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Unpublished Asimov Essay

A previously unpublished essay by Isaac Asimov, originally written in 1959, has been posted on the MIT Technology Review website. Discussing creativity, the piece was Asimov’s “single formal input” for the Advanced Research Projects Agency. The article is accompanied by a note from Arthur Obermayer and published with the permission of Asimov Holdings. To read the essay visit the MIT Technology Review site.

Martin & Doherty Receive Harris Collection Literary Award

Author George R.R. Martin and Tor publisher Tom Doherty will receive the inaugural Harris Collection Literary Award. The event will be held at Brown University in Providence RI on Thursday, October 23, 2014 at 7:00 P.M. The evening will include an awards ceremony, interviews, and a reception, and is open exclusively to Brown students. Named after Caleb Fiske Harris, Brown class of 1838, the award “celebrates the influence of literature in pop culture.” For more information, see the Brown University website.

Amazon and S&S Reach Agreement

Amazon and Simon & Schuster have resolved their negotiations and signed a new multi-year agreement. Though details have not been officially released, the deal will reportedly allow S&S to set retail prices for e-books, returning to “a version of agency pricing,” as S&S CEO Carolyn Reidy describes it, with some room allowed for Amazon to discount titles.

For more, see the story in Publishers Weekly.

Benefit For Locus with Garth Nix and Ysabeau Wilce

SF in SF will hold a special event with Garth Nix and Ysabeau Wilce Saturday, October 25, 2014. Garth Nix will read from his new book Clariel, and Ysabeau Wilce will read from her new collection Prophecies, Libels, and Dreams: Stories. Doors open at 6:00 p.m.

The event will be held at The Women’s Building in the Audre Lourde Room, 2nd Floor, 3543 18th Street, one block up from Valencia in San Francisco. Proceeds will benefit the Locus Science Fiction Foundation, a non-profit dedicated to the promotion and preservation of science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Admission cost is tax-deductible to the extent allowed by law.

The benefit is sponsored by Tachyon Publications. For more information, see the SF in SF website.

2014 Deutscher Phantastik Preis Awards

The winners of the Deutscher Phantastik Preis Awards were announced October 11, 2014 at Buchmess Convent in Dreieich near Frankfurt, Germany.

Best Novel in German

  • Phoenix – Tochter der Asche [Phoenix – Daughter of Ashes], Ann-Kathrin Karschnick (Papierverzierer)

Best Debut Novel in German

  • Eldorin – Das verborgene Land [Eldorin – The Hidden Land], Gaby Wohlrab (Vier Raben)

Best International Novel

  • Dunkle Halunken [Dodger], Terry Pratchett (ivi)

Best German Short Story

  • “Claire”, Miriam Schäfer (Weltentor 2013 Mystery)

Best Anthology/Collection

  • Eis und Dampf [Ice and Steam], Christian Vogt, ed. (Feder & Schwert)

Best Book Series

  • DSA – Das schwarze Auge [DSA – The Black Eye] (Ulisses Spiele)

Best Graphic Artist

  • Mia Steingräber

Best Work on Secondary Literature

  • Geek! magazine

Best Website

Niven Wins Impact of Imagination Award

Larry Niven will be honored with the 2014 Arthur C. Clarke Award for Impact of Imagination on Society. The ceremony will be held November 19, 2014 at the Artisphere in Arlington VA. The award was created in 2012 by the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation. Prior winners were Ursula K. Le Guin in 2013 and Sir Kenneth Robinson in 2012.

For more information, see the Arthur C. Clarke Foundation website.

Zilpha Keatley Snyder (1927-2014)

Children’s writer Zilpha Keatley Snyder, 87, died October 8, 2014 of complications from a stroke in San Francisco. Snyder wrote over 40 books, including many middle-grade novels with fantasy elements. She is best known for Newbery Honor book The Egypt Game (1967), and wrote two other Newbery Honor titles, The Headless Cupid (1971) and The Witches of Worm (1971).

Zilpha Keatley was born May 11, 1927 in Lemoore CA. She attended Whittier CA, graduating with a BA in 1948, and also attended the University of California at Berkeley during the summers from 1958-60. She married Larry Allan Snyder in 1950; they had two children, and later adopted a third. She was an elementary school teacher from 1948-62.

Snyder gave up teaching to focus on fiction, and began publishing with Season of Ponies in 1964. Her most recent book was William’s Midsummer Dreams (2011).

See the November issue of Locus for a complete obituary.

2014 WSFA Small Press Award Winner

The winner of the 2014 Washington Science Fiction Association Small Press Award for Short Fiction was announced October 11, 2014 at Capclave:

  • “Explaining Cthulhu to Grandma”, Alex Shvartsman (Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show 4/13)
  • “Trap-weed”, Gemma Files (Clockwork Phoenix 4)
  • “The Traditional”, Maria Dahvana Headley (Lightspeed 5/13)
  • “Bits”, Naomi Kritzer, (Clarkesworld 10/13)
  • “Set Your Face Towards the Darkness”, David McDonald (Tales of Australia: Great Southern Land)
  • “Acts of Chivalry”, Sean McMullen, (Tales of Australia: Great Southern Land)
  • “Morning Star”, DK Mok (One Small Step, an anthology of discoveries)
  • “Like a Bat Out of Hell”, Jonathan Shipley (After Death)

The award, recognizing the “best original short fiction” published by small presses in the previous year, was presented in Gaithersburg, MD. The winner was chosen by members of WSFA. For more information, see the WSFA Small Press Award site.

2014 Geffen Awards Winners

The 2014 Geffen Awards winners have been announced. The awards are presented by the Israeli Society for Science Fiction and Fantasy.

Best Translated Science Fiction Book

Best Translated Fantasy Book

  • Going Postal, Terry Pratchett, translated by Vered Tochterman (Opus)

Best Translated YA Book

Best Israeli Short Story

  • “Whisky in a Jar”, Rotem Baruchin (Once Upon a Future)

Best Israeli Novel

  • Every Story Is a Sudden Cat, Gabriella Avigur-Rotem (Kinnert Zmora Bitan)

Winners were announced at ICon in Tel Aviv, the annual Israeli SF convention, held October 12-14, 2014.


Ellison Recovering from Stroke

Harlan Ellison, 80, suffered a stroke on October 9, 2014, and is recovering in the hospital. His wife Susan Ellison posted October 12 at Ellison Webderland:

I will make this brief. A couple of days ago Harlan had a stroke. He’s in the hospital. His right side is paralyzed.

He’s comfortable–as possible. We will keep you up-to-date with his progress.
With all kindness –Susan

He is reportedly resting and recovering well.


© 2011-2014 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.