The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field
Locus Online
   locus magazine banner
Sub Menu contents



Powered by Blogger

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]

Monday, July 6, 2009

Prometheus Awards Announced

posted @ 7/06/2009 11:07:00 AM PT 

The Libertarian Futurist Society has released winners of this year's Prometheus Awards in advance of the planned awards ceremony at Anticipation, the 67th World Science Fiction Convention, August 6-10, 2009, in Montréal, Quebec, Canada.

Winners and finalists are as follows:


  • Little Brother, Cory Doctorow (Tor)
  • Matter, Iain Banks (Orbit)
  • The January Dancer, Michael Flynn (Tor)
  • Saturn's Children, Charles Stross (Tor)
  • Opening Atlantis, Harry Turtledove (Roc)
  • Half a Crown, Jo Walton (Tor)

    Twelve novels were nominated.


  • The Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien

  • Falling Free, Lois McMaster Bujold
  • Courtship Rite, Donald M. Kingsbury
  • "As Easy as A.B.C.", Rudyard Kipling
  • The Once and Future King, T.H. White
  • The Golden Age, John C. Wright

  • The Hall of Fame category includes works sometimes nominated year after year until they win; The Lord of the Rings has been nominated several times in the past.

    The Prometheus Awards were established in 1979. Winners receive a plaque and a one-ounce gold coin.


    © 2009 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.