The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field
Locus Online
   locus magazine banner
Sub Menu contents


 




 

Powered by Blogger

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]

Friday, May 29, 2009

2009 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists

posted @ 5/29/2009 01:54:00 PM PT 

The 2009 Mythopoeic Awards finalists have been announced. The winners of this year's awards will be announced during Mythcon XL to be held from July 17-20, 2009 in Los Angeles, California. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society website.

2009 Mythopoeic Awards finalists:

ADULT LITERATURE
  • Flesh and Spirit and Breath and Bone, Carol Berg (Roc)
  • Pandemonium, Daryl Gregory (Del Rey)
  • Lavinia, Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt)
  • The Bell at Sealey Head, Patricia A. McKillip (Ace)
  • An Evil Guest, Gene Wolfe (Tor)
CHILDREN’S LITERATURE
  • Graceling, Kristin Cashore (Harcourt Children's)
  • The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman (HarperCollins)
  • House of Many Ways, Diana Wynne Jones (HarperCollins)
  • Savvy, Ingrid Law (Dial)
  • Nation, Terry Pratchett (HarperCollins)
INKLINGS STUDIES
  • Charles Williams: Alchemy and Imagination, Gavin Ashenden (Kent State, 2008)
  • Tolkien on Fairy-stories: Expanded Edition, with Commentary and Notes, Veryln Flieger and Douglas A. Anderson, eds. (HarperCollins, 2008)
  • The History of the Hobbit, Part One: Mr. Baggins; Part Two: Return to Bag-end, John Rateliff (Houghton Mifflin, 2007)
  • Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis, Michael Ward (Oxford, 2008)
  • The Evolution of Tolkien’s Mythology: A Study of the History of Middle-earth, Elizabeth A. Whittingham (McFarland, 2008)
MYTH AND FANTASY STUDIES
  • Four British Fantasists: Place and Culture in the Children’s Fantasies of Penelope Lively, Alan Garner, Diana Wynne Jones, and Susan Cooper, Charles Butler (Children’s Literature Association & Scarecrow, 2006)
  • Folklore and the Fantastic in Nineteenth-Century British Fiction, Jason Marc Harris (Ashgate, 2008)
  • Rhetorics of Fantasy, Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan University Press, 2008)
  • One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Madeleine L’Engle and Orson Scott Card, Marek Oziewicz (McFarland, 2008)
  • Oz in Perspective: Magic and Myth in the Frank L. Baum Books, Richard Carl Tuerk (McFarland, 2007)

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2008 that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from young adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2006–2008) are eligible, including finalists for
previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings
Studies award.

Labels:

Friday, May 22, 2009

Melko Wins Compton Crook Award

posted @ 5/22/2009 09:10:00 AM PT 

Paul Melko's Singularity's Ring won the 2009 Compton Crook / Stephen Tall Award for the best SF/fantasy first novel from the previous year, which includes a plaque and a $1,000 cash prize. The award will be presented May 22, 2009 at Balticon, and is sponsored by the Baltimore Science Fiction Society.

Labels:

Wednesday, May 20, 2009

Sturgeon Award Finalists

posted @ 5/20/2009 02:30:00 PM PT 

Finalists for the 2009 Sturgeon Awards have been announced:

"The Gambler", Paolo Bacigalupi (Fast Forward 2)
"The Political Prisoner", Charles Coleman Finlay (F&SF 8/08)
"True Names", Cory Doctorow & Benjamin Rosenbaum (Fast Forward 2)
"The Ray Gun: A Love Story", James Alan Gardner (Asimov's 2/08)
"Memory Dog", Kathleen Ann Goonan (Asimov's 4-5/08)
"The Tear", Ian McDonald (Galactic Empires)
"Special Economics", Maureen McHugh (The Del Rey Book of Science Fiction and Fantasy)
"His Master's Voice", Hannu Rajaniemi (Interzone #218)
"From Babel's Fall'n Glory We Fled", Michael Swanwick (Asimov's 2/08).

Kij Johnson's "26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss" (Asimov's 7/08) was a finalist, but Johnson removed it from consideration because she is a juror. The awards will be presented at a banquet July 10, 2009, held during the Campbell Conference in Lawrence KS, from July 9-12. For more information visit www.ku.edu/~sfcenter.

Labels:

Friday, May 15, 2009

Scribe Award Finalists

posted @ 5/15/2009 09:24:00 AM PT 

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers (IAMTW) has announced nominees for the third annual Scribe Awards, honoring excellence in licensed tie-in writing for books published in 2008. Winners will be announced at a ceremony July 2009 at Comic-Con International in San Diego CA. The genre-related nominees are:

Best General Novel: Adapted

The X-Files: I Want to Believe, Max Allan Collins (HarperCollins)
Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, James Rollins (Del Rey)

Best Speculative Fiction Novel: Original

Ghost Whisperer: Revenge, Doranna Durgin (Pocket Star)
Ravenloft: The Covenant, Heaven's Bones, Samantha Henderson (Wizards of the Coast)
Stargate SG-1: Hydra, Holly Scott & Jaime Duncan (Fandemonium)
Star Trek: Terok Nor: Day of the Vipers, James Swallow (Pocket)

Best Speculative Fiction Novel: Adapted

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans, Greg Cox (Pocket Star)
The Mutant Chronicles, Matt Forbeck (Del Rey)
Hellboy II: The Golden Army, Bob Greenberger (Dark Horse)
Star Wars: The Clone Wars: Wild Space, Karen Miller (Del Rey)

Best Young Adult Novel: Original

Doctor Who: The Eyeless, Lance Parkin (Random House UK)
Primeval: Shadow of the Jaguar, Steven Savile (Titan Books)

Best Young Adult Novel: Adapted

The Dark Knight: The Junior Novel, Stacia Deutsch & Rhody Cohon (HarperFestival)
Iron Man: The Junior Novel, Stephen D. Sullivan (HarperFestival)
Journey to the Center of the Earth 3D, Tracey West (Price Stern Sloan)

Best Game-Related Novel: Original (Special Scribe Award)

Eberron: The Doom of Kings, Don Bassingthwaite (Wizards of the Coast)
Eberron: The Inquisitives: The Darkwood Mask, Jeff LaSala (Wizards of the Coast)
Warhammer: Elfslayer, Nathan Long (Games Workshop)
Dragonlance: Death March, Jean Rabe (Wizards of the Coast)

Best Game-Related Novel: Adapted (Special Scribe Award)

The Mutant Chronicles, Matt Forbeck (Del Rey)
World of Warcraft: Beyond the Dark Portal, Aaron Rosenberg & Christie Golden (Pocket Star)

For a complete list of nominees, see the IAMTW website

Labels:

Thursday, May 14, 2009

The Newest Locusperson

posted @ 5/14/2009 10:19:00 AM PT 

Locus executive editor Liza Groen Trombi and husband Matt Trombi are the parents of Nora Isabel Trombi, born May 13, 2009 at 4:17 p.m., weighing in at 7 pounds, 5 ounces. Liza will be out on maternity leave for several weeks. Welcome Nora!

Labels:

Monday, May 11, 2009

Norton Lawsuit Over

posted @ 5/11/2009 10:08:00 AM PT 

The Tennessee Supreme Court recently denied Victor Horadam's request for a final appeal, which means the battle over the rights to Andre Norton's past and future works is over for good.

The appellate court's decision from late 2008 will stand, which means Norton’s longtime caregiver Sue Stewart will control the copyright to books published during Norton’s life, including royalties on any reprints, while Horadim will receive royalties on any works published for the first time posthumously. Stewart says she is "currently working on several projects involving Andre's work. Her estate will be making an important announcement in the near future."

The lawsuits stemmed from confusion over the terms of Norton's will. The author, who died in 2005, said that Horadam should receive "the royalties from all posthumous publication of any of my works," while Stewart was named as beneficiary of all other property and assets. Horadam argued that he should receive money from new and reprinted works, while Stewart insisted that Norton meant Horadam to receive royalties only on books published posthumously, with Stewart to receive royalties on books first published in Norton's lifetime. The judge in the initial trial sided with Horadam, but the appeals court overturned that decision and upheld Stewart's interpretation.

Labels:

Thursday, May 7, 2009

Sidewise Award Nominees

posted @ 5/07/2009 03:57:00 PM PT 

Finalists for the 2008 Sidewise Awards for excellence in alternate history have been announced:

LONG FORM
  • The Affinity Bridge, George Mann (Snowbooks; Tor '09)
  • The Dragon's Nine Sons, Chris Roberson (Solaris)
  • Half a Crown, Jo Walton (Tor)
  • Nation, Terry Pratchett (Doubleday UK; HarperCollins)
  • Swiftly, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
SHORT FORM
  • "A Brief Guide to Other Histories", Paul J. McAuley (Postscripts #15)
  • "G-Men," Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Sideways in Crime)
  • "Night Bird Soaring," T.L. Morganfield (Greatest Uncommon Denominator Autumn '08)
  • "The People's Machine", Tobias Buckell (Sideways in Crime)
  • "Poison Victory", Albert E. Cowdrey (F&SF 07/08)
  • "Sacrifice", Mary Rosenblum (Sideways in Crime)

The awards will be presented at Anticipation, the 67th Worldcon, to be held in Montreal, Canada from August 6-10, 2009. The judges are Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stuart Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver. For more see the Sidewise Award website.

Labels:

Monday, May 4, 2009

Klages Wins California Book Award

posted @ 5/04/2009 01:10:00 PM PT 

White Sands, Red Menace by Ellen Klages (Viking) won a Gold Medal in the 78th Annual California Book Awards in the Young Adult Category, chosen by the Commonwealth Club. Prizes will be presented at a ceremony June 4, 2009 in San Francisco. For more information, or to buy tickets for the ceremony, visit the Commonwealth Club website.

Labels:

© 2009 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.