The Website of The Magazine of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Field
Locus Online
   locus magazine banner
Sub Menu contents



Powered by Blogger

Subscribe to
Posts [Atom]

Wednesday, March 3, 2010

Spectrum 17 Awards

posted @ 3/03/2010 03:30:00 PM PT 

The 2010 Spectrum 17 Award winners were announced in Kansas City MO, February 26, 2010.

  • Gold: "Absinthe Drinker", Sam Webber (Dellas Graphics)
  • Silver: "Never the Twain", Craig Elliot (C.E. Gallery)

  • Gold: "Mistmantle: The Rage Tide", Omar Rayyan (Hyperion)
  • Silver: "A Confabulation of Dragons", Scott Gustafson (The Greenwich Workshop)

  • Gold: "The Incident", Steven Tabbutt (Rabid Rabbit)
  • Silver: "Cloud Cave 3", Eric Orchard (Top Shelf Productions)

Concept Art
  • Gold: "Wasp Hives", Daniel Dociu (ArenaNet/GuildWars 2)
  • Silver: "Monuit Valley", Ritche Sacilioc (Monuit Valley)

  • Gold: "Eel Walker", Mark Newman
  • Silver: "Cover Girls of the DC Universe: Catwoman", Jack Matthews
  • Silver: "Alba", Virginie Ropars

  • Gold: "Aging Tyger", Chris Buzelli (Asset International/AI5000)
  • Silver: "The Crow Procedure", Sam Weber (The Walrus)

  • Gold: "The Mouse's Return", Ed Binkley
  • Silver: "Edgar Allan Poe", Michael J. Deas (US Postal Service)

  • Gold: "Beyond the Past", Eric Fortune
  • Silver: "Shaman's Loss", Donato Giancola
  • Silver: "Game of Chase", Heather Theurer
All winning artwork will be included in Spectrum 17: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, (Underwood October, 2010) edited by Cathy & Arnie Fenner. Winners will receive a Spectrum Award sculpted by Joseph DeVito, which rests on a base sculpted by Tom Banwell, with either a gold or silver engraved plate bearing the winner's name. Jurors were Bill Carman, Kerry Callen, John Fleskes, Rebecca Guay, and Iain McCaig.


© 2009 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved.