The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for May, 2010

2010 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2010 Theodore Sturgeon Award have been announced: “Things Undone”, John Barnes (Baen’s Universe 12/09) “This Wind Blowing, and this Tide”, Damien Broderick (Asimov’s 4-5/09) “As Women Fight”, Sara Genge (Asimov’s 10-11/09) “Spar”, Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld 10/09) “Blood Dauber”, Ted Kosmatka & Michael Poore (Asimov’s 12/09) “Cockatrice”, Tanith Lee (Fantasy Magazine 10/09) […]

Bacigalupi Wins 2010 Compton Crook Award

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society has announced that Paolo Bacigalupi is the winner of the 2010 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award for The Windup Girl (Night Shade). The award will be presented at Balticon 44, where Bacigalupi will receive an award plaque and check for $1,000 on May 28, 2010, during the convention’s opening ceremonies. Finalists […]

2010 Prix Aurora Awards Winners

The 2010 Prix Aurora Awards winners were announced at Keycon 27, held May 21-23, 2010 in Winnipeg, Canada. Best Novel in English: Wake, Robert J. Sawyer (Penguin Canada) Best Novel in French: Suprématie, Laurent McAllister (pen name of Jean-Louis Trudel & Yves Meynard) (Bragelonne) Best Short-Form Work in English: “Pawns Dreaming of Roses”, Eileen Bell […]

George Ewing, 1945-2010

Writer George McDonald Ewing, 64, died May 18, 2010 of a heart attack in Tampa FL. Ewing attended Clarion in 1973, and began selling stories soon after, beginning with “Black Fly” in Analog (1974). Further stories appeared in Asimov’s and other publications in the ’70s, ’80s, and ’90s. He was also a freelance non-fiction writer, […]

Martin Gardner, 1914-2010

Author, mathematician, and puzzle-maker Martin Gardner, 95, died May 22, 2010 in Norman OK. Born October 21, 1914 in Tulsa OK, Gardner studied philosophy at the University of Chicago, graduating in 1936. He is best known for his long-running “Mathematical Games” column for Scientific American. He also wrote a mathematics column for Asimov’s from its launch […]

Analog and Asimov’s Award Winners

Winners, Accepters, and Others, left to right: Standing: John Allemand, Bryan D. Dietrich, Will McIntosh, Sheila Williams, Bud Sparhawk accepting for Stephen L. Burns; Seated: Richard A. Lovett, Stanley Schmidt, Ted Kosmatka accepting for himself and Michael Poore, Carl Frederick. Photo by Jane Jewell, 2010. The Analog AnLab (Analytical Laboratory) Award winners and the Asimov’s […]

Nebula Awards Winners

The 2009 Nebula Awards winners were announced on Saturday, May 15th during the 2010 SFWA Nebula Awards Weekend, held in Cocoa Beach, Florida. Novel: The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade) The Love We Share Without Knowing, Christopher Barzak (Bantam) Flesh and Fire, Laura Anne Gilman (Pocket) The City & The City, China Miéville (Del […]

2010 National Book Awards Judges

Some genre-friendly authors are among the judges for the 2010 National Book Awards. Samuel R. Delany and Carolyn See will be judges in the Fiction category, and Kelly Link will be a judge in the Young People’s Literature category. Award finalists will be announced October 13, 2010. See the National Book Awards site for complete list […]

Angry Robot’s New Home

Angry Robot Books, the imprint of HarperCollins UK started in July 2009, has parted ways with its parent company and will become an independent imprint under Osprey Publishing, a non-fiction press that currently specializes in military history and wants to expand into the SF/F fiction market. Angry Robot will keep its Nottingham office and its […]

Frank Frazetta, 1928-2010

Artist Frank Frazetta, 82, died May 10, 2010 of a stroke in a hospital near Boca Grande FL. Frazetta is best known for his iconic illustrations for the works of Robert E. Howard — especially Conan the Barbarian — and Edgar Rice Burroughs, and was a towering figure in the SF/fantasy art field. Born February […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.