The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Nebula Awards Winners

The 2009 Nebula Awards winners were announced on Saturday, May 15th during the 2010 SFWA Nebula Awards Weekend, held in Cocoa Beach, Florida.


  • The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade)
  • The Love We Share Without Knowing, Christopher Barzak (Bantam)
  • Flesh and Fire, Laura Anne Gilman (Pocket)
  • The City & The City, China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan UK)
  • Boneshaker, Cherie Priest (Tor)
  • Finch, Jeff VanderMeer (Underland)


  • The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, Kage Baker (Subterranean)
  • “Arkfall”, Carolyn Ives Gilman (F&SF 9/08)
  • “Act One”, Nancy Kress (Asimov’s 3/09)
  • Shambling Towards Hiroshima, James Morrow (Tachyon)
    “Sublimation Angels”, Jason Sanford (Interzone 9-10/09)
  • The God Engines, John Scalzi (Subterranean)


  • “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast”, Eugie Foster (Interzone 2/09)
  • “The Gambler”, Paolo Bacigalupi (Fast Forward 2)
  • “Vinegar Peace, or, the Wrong-Way Used-Adult Orphanage”, Michael Bishop (Asimov’s 7/08)
  • “I Needs Must Part, the Policeman Said”, Richard Bowes (F&SF 12/09)
  • “Divining Light”, Ted Kosmatka (Asimov’s 8/08)
  • “A Memory of Wind”, Rachel Swirsky ( 11/09)

Short Story:

  • “Spar”, Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld 10/09)
  • “Hooves and the Hovel of Abdel Jameela”, Saladin Ahmed (Clockwork Phoenix 2)
  • “I Remember the Future”, Michael A. Burstein (I Remember the Future)
  • “Non-Zero Probabilities”, N.K. Jemisin (Clarkesworld 9/09)
  • “Going Deep”, James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s 6/09)
  • “Bridesicle”, Will McIntosh (Asimov’s 1/09)

Ray Bradbury Award:

  • District 9, Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell (Tri-Star)
  • Star Trek, J.J. Abrams (Paramount)
  • Avatar, James Cameron (Fox)
  • Moon, Duncan Jones and Nathan Parker (Sony)
  • Up, Bob Peterson and Pete Docter (Disney/Pixar)
  • Coraline, Henry Selick (Laika/Focus)

Andre Norton Award:

  • The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, Catherynne M. Valente (
  • Hotel Under the Sand, Kage Baker (Tachyon)
  • Ice, Sarah Beth Durst (McElderry)
  • Ash, Malinda Lo (Little, Brown)
  • Eyes Like Stars, Lisa Mantchev (Feiwel & Friends)
  • Zoe’s Tale, John Scalzi (Tor)
  • When You Reach Me, Rebecca Stead (Wendy Lamb)
  • Leviathan, Scott Westerfeld (Simon Pulse; Simon & Schuster UK)

Five time Hugo and Nebula award winner Joe Haldeman was honored as the Damon Knight Grand Master.  Neal Barrett was named Author Emeritus. The honorees for the Solstice are Tom Doherty, Terri Windling and Donald Wollheim.


Pingback from Locus Online News » Paolo Bacigalupi, James Morrow win Campbell, Sturgeon Awards
Time Sat 10 July 2010 at 6:56 pm

[…] Nebulas (15 May) […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.