The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2010 Chesley Awards Nominees

The 2010 Chesley Awards nominees have been announced:

Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book:

Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book:

Best Cover Illustration – Magazine:

  • Les Edwards, for Cemetery Dance (10/09)
  • Bob Eggleton, for Analog Science Fiction and Fact (10/09)
  • David A. Hardy, for The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction (11-12/09)
  • Kazuhiko Nakamura, for Clarkesworld (#38)
    David Palumbo, for Heavy Metal (11/09)
  • John Picacio, for Asimov’s Science Fiction (9/09)
  • Adam Tredowski, for Interzone (2/09)

Best Interior Illustration:

Best Color Work—Unpublished:

  • Eric Fortune, for “Allure”
  • Rebecca Guay, for “Gwenevere”
  • Patrick Jones, for “Death of Diana”
  • Raol Vitale, for “Unrequited”
  • Michael Whelan, for “Lumen 5”
  • Mark Zug, for “Helium”

Best Monochrome Work – Unpublished:

  • Jim Burns, for “Pod Shift”
  • Eric Fortune, for “Hollowed”
  • Justin Gerard, for “Steampunk Wizard of Oz”
  • Sheila Rayyan, for “Faces of You”
  • L.A. Williams, for “Lost Love”

Best Three-Dimensional Art:

  • Tom Kuebler, for “Grandma Hoodoo & Zombie John”
  • Kris Kuksi, for “Anglo-Parisian Barnstormer”
  • David Meng, for “Satyr’s Head”
  • Charles Vess & David Spence, for “Titania”
  • Vincent Villafranca, for “The Switching Hour”

Best Gaming-Related Illustration:

  • Daren Bader, for “Boarguts the Impaler” from Drums of War (World of Warcraft Trading Cards)
  • Volkan Baga, for “Joraga Bard” from Zendikar (World of Warcraft Trading Cards)
  • Lucas Graciano, for “Silverwing”
  • Kekai Kotaki, for “Lorthos the Tidemaker” from Zendikar (World of Warcraft Trading Cards)
  • Todd Lockwood, for “Kalitas, Bloodchief of Ghet” from Zendikar (World of Warcraft Trading Cards)
  • Matthew Stewart, for “Serendib Efreet” (Magic: the Gathering Trading Card)

Best Product Illustration:

  • Scott Gustafson, for “A Confabulation of Dragons”
  • Kokai Kotaki, for “Guild Wars 2” concept art
  • Gregory Manchess, for “Above the Timberline” greeting card
  • Ian Miller, for “Cthulhu Temple”
  • Jordu Schell, for “Na’vi character design” from Avatar
  • Matthew Stewart, for “Battle Under the Mountain”

Best Art Director:

  • Lou Anders, for Pyr
  • Irene Gallo, for Tor
  • Jeremy Jarvis, for Wizards of the Coast
  • Jon Schindehette, for Wizards of the Coast
  • Jerad Walters, for Centipede

Contribution to ASFA:

  • Ingrid Neilson, for work on the Chesley Awards for 20+ years
  • Mike Willmoth, for maintaining the organization of ASFA, 2007-2009
  • Patrick & Jeannie Wilshire, for hosting the Chesley Awards Ceremony at IlluXCon 2

Award for Artistic Achievement:

  • Brom
  • Larry Elmore
  • Greg Hildebrandt
  • Ian Miller
  • Boris Vallejo

Winners will be announced at ReConStruction, the 10th NASFiC, to be held August 5-8, 2010, in Raleigh NC.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.