The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Gaiman Wins Carnegie Medal

Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book is the winner of the prestigious 2010 Carnegie Medal, awarded to “the most outstanding book for children” published in the UK. The Graveyard Book also won the 2009 Newbery Medal, given by the American Library Association, and is the first book ever to win both prizes.

Shortlisted books included Terry Pratchett’s Nation, Philip Reeve’s Fever Crumb and Patrick Ness’s The Ask and the Answer. The award, administered by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, is judged by a panel of children’s librarians.

“It’s particularly fantastic for me because it was the first literary prize I was ever aware of as a kid,” says Gaiman, who will receive a golden medal and £500 worth of books to donate to a library of his choice.


Pingback from Tweets that mention Locus Online News » Gaiman Wins Carnegie Medal —
Time Thu 24 June 2010 at 3:55 pm

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by belcasas and belcasas, belcasas. belcasas said: @neilhimself has just won the prestigeous lit award for The Graveyard Book summer reading… […]

Pingback from Neil Gaiman recibe la Carneige Medal [ENG]
Time Sun 27 June 2010 at 5:29 am

[…] Neil Gaiman recibe la Carneige Medal [ENG]  por Namueh hace 3 segundos […]

Pingback from Neil Gaiman recibe la Carneige Medal [ENG] | Prensa digital
Time Sun 27 June 2010 at 6:00 am

[…] » noticia original […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.