The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Pratchett First Novel Prize

Sir Terry Pratchett and Transworld Publishers have announced a contest for new writers: The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now Prize.

Writers are invited to submit novels set on “some version of the past, present or future of a planet Earth” — alternate histories, parallel universes, etc., but all set on Earth and adhering to the actual laws of science.

Entrants must be over 18, live in the UK, Ireland, or the Commonwealth, and must have no previously published full-length works of fiction. The deadline for submissions is December 31, 2010, with a shortlist of six to be announced March 31, 2011, and the winner revealed by the end of May 2011. The winning author will be offered a publishing contract by Transworld with a £20,000 advance.

Further details, and complete terms and conditions, are available at Pratchett’s website.


Pingback from Tweets that mention Locus Online News » Pratchett First Novel Prize —
Time Fri 25 June 2010 at 11:59 am

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ray Radlein, Lein Shory and Jeff A. Jones, Handee Books. Handee Books said: RT @locusmag: Pratchett First Novel Prize: […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.