The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for July, 2010

2009 Scribe Awards Winners

The International Association of Media Tie-In Writers has announced nominees for the fourth annual Scribe Awards, honoring excellence in licensed tie-in writing for books published in 2009. Best Novel, Speculative Fiction (tie) Enemies & Allies, Kevin J. Anderson (Morrow) Terminator Salvation: Cold War, Greg Cox (Titan) Star Trek: A Singular Destiny, Keith R.A. DeCandido (Pocket) […]

Frank K. Kelly (1914-2010)

SF writer Frank King Kelly, 95, died June 11, 2010 in Santa Barbara CA. Kelly began publishing SF with “The Light Bender” in Wonder Stories (1931), and published a number of stories, mostly dark space operas, until he stopped writing fiction in 1935. His stories were eventually collected in Starship Invincible (1979). In 1996, he […]

Applications for Gulliver Travel Grant Open

The Speculative Literature Foundation is now accepting proposals for the Gulliver Travel Research Grant. The deadline is September 30, 2010. One grant of $800 is awarded annually, earmarked for airfare, lodging, and other travel expenses associated with non-academic research conducted by speculative fiction authors (in fiction, poetry,drama, or creative nonfiction). More information is available at […]

Delany, Ellison to Receive Eaton Awards for Lifetime Achievement

Samuel R. Delany and Harlan Ellison are the honorees of the 2010 and 2011 Eaton Awards for Lifetime Achievement in Science Fiction, awarded by the University of California, Riverside. Both awards will be presented at the 2011 Eaton Science Fiction Conference, to be held February 11-13, 2011, in Riverside, California.

2009 Prometheus Awards

The Libertarian Futurist Society has announced that The Unincorporated Man by Dani & Eytan Kollin (Tor) is the winner of the 2009 Prometheus Award for Best Novel, and No Truce with Kings, by Poul Anderson, is the winner of the 2009 Hall of Fame Award. Runners-up for the Best Novel award were Hidden Empire by […]

2010 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award Winner

Mark Clifton (1906–1963) is the winner of the 2010 Cordwainer Smith Rediscovery Award, intended to bring attention to lesser-known science fiction and fantasy authors. The award was announced at Readercon, held July 8-11, 2010, in Burlington, Massachusetts. Clifton’s most successful work, They’d Rather Be Right (a.k.a. The Forever Machines), was co-authored with Frank Riley and was […]

2009 Endeavour Award Nominees

Finalists for the 12th Endeavour Award, for novels or single-author collections written by Pacific Northwest writers, have been announced. Push of the Sky, Camille Alexa (Hadley Rille) Hunting Ground, Patricia Briggs (Ace) City Without End, Kay Kenyon (Pyr) Mind Over Ship, David Marusek (Tor) Eyes Like Sky and Coal and Moonlight, Cat Rambo (Paper Golem) […]

James Hogan (1941-2010)

British author James P. Hogan, 69, died in his home in the Republic of Ireland on July 12, 2010. The cause of death has not yet been determined. Hogan, a hard SF writer, won three Seiun Awards and two Prometheus Awards. Hogan is best known for the Minervan Experiment or Giants series, beginning with debut […]

2009 Shirley Jackson Awards Winners

The 2009 Shirley Jackson Awards winners have been announced. The awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction. Novel Big Machine, Victor LaValle (Speigel & Grau) Last Days, Brian Evenson (Underland) The Red Tree, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Roc) The Owl Killers, Karen Maitland (Delacorte) White is for Witching, Helen […]

2010 Mythopoeic Awards

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the 2010 Mythopoeic Award winners: Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature: Lifelode, Jo Walton (NESFA) Trickster’s Game Trilogy: Heartwood, Bloodstone, and Foxfire, Barbara Campbell (DAW) Cloud & Ashes: Three Winter’s Tales, Greer Gilman (Small Beer) Avilion, Robert Holdstock (Gollancz) Palimpsest, Catherynne M. Valente (Bantam Spectra) Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.