The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for August, 2010

Black Library announces Hammer and Bolter

Gaming-related publisher Black Library has announced a new downloadable short fiction magazine, Hammer and Bolter, to launch in October as part of their new e-book publishing initiative. Each issue will sell for £2.50, and the debut issue will feature a previously-unpublished Warhammer story by John Brunner, who died in 1995. Other authors contributing work to […]

2009 World Fantasy Awards Nominees

The World Fantasy Awards ballot for works in 2009 has been announced. The awards will be presented in Columbus OH, October 28-31, 2010.  Nominees are: Novel Blood of Ambrose, James Enge (Pyr) The Red Tree, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Roc) The City & The City, China Miéville (Macmillan UK/ Del Rey) Finch, Jeff VanderMeer (Underland) In […]

Darren Nash Named Digital Publisher for Gollancz

Darren Nash is leaving his current post as editorial director at Orbit to take on the newly created role of digital publisher at Gollancz Books.

Liz Gorinsky Promoted to Editor

Liz Gorinsky has been promoted to editor at Tor Books. She edits a list that includes Dave Duncan, Mary Robinette Kowal, Cherie Priest, Brian Slattery, Cat Valente, etc. She also edits and acquires for

2012 World Fantasy Convention Site

The board of the World Fantasy Convention has decided on Toronto, Ontario for the site of the 2012 World Fantasy Convention. The announcement should soon be reflected on the World Fantasy website, and the Toronto website is expected to be up before this year’s convention in Columbus, Ohio.

2010 WSFA Small Press Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2010 Washington Science Fiction Association Small Press Award for Short Fiction have been announced: “each thing i show you is a piece of my death”, Gemma Files & Stephen J. Barringer (Clockwork Phoenix 2) “Race to the Moon”, Kyell Gold (New Fables Summer 2009) “Images of Anna”, Nancy Kress (Fantasy Magazine […]

Dorchester Goes Digital

Dorchester, a mass market paperback publisher since 1971, announced that it will shift away from print publishing, moving to print-on-demand and digital formats only, effective Monday August 9, 2010. Dorchester’s book unit sales dropped 25% in 2009, with declining orders from its primary retail outlets, including Wal-Mart Stores Inc. Dorchester, known for its romance, paranormal […]

Chesley Awards Winners

The 2010 Chesley Awards winners were announced at ReConStruction, the 10th NASFiC, held August 5-8, 2010, in Raleigh NC. Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book: Matt Stewart, for The Valley of Shadows (by Brian Cullen; Tor) Bob Eggleton, for Dragon’s Ring (by Dave Freer; Baen) Todd Lockwood, for A Magic of Nightfall (by S.L. Farrell; […]

Reynolds & Conroy Win Sidewise Awards

The Sidewise Awards for Alternate History winners have been announced: Short Form “The Fixation”, Alastair Reynolds (The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction: Volume Three) “Yes, We Have No Bananas”, Paul Di Filippo (Eclipse 3) “Edison’s Frankenstein”, Chris Roberson (Postscripts 20/21) “Black Swan”, Bruce Sterling (Interzone #221) “The Persistence of Souls,” Sarah Zettel (The Shadow […]

2010 Ditmar Awards Finalists

The 2010 Ditmar Award shortlist, for Australian SF, has been announced: Best Novel World Shaker, Richard Harland (Allen & Unwin) Liar, Justine Larbalestier (Bloomsbury) Life Through Cellophane, Gillian Polack (Eneit) Slights, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot) Leviathan, Scott Westerfeld (Penguin) Best Novella or Novelette Horn, Peter M. Ball (Twelfth Planet) “Black Water”, David Conyers (Jupiter) “After […]

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.