The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Chesley Awards Winners

The 2010 Chesley Awards winners were announced at ReConStruction, the 10th NASFiC, held August 5-8, 2010, in Raleigh NC.

Best Cover Illustration – Hardback Book:

Best Cover Illustration – Paperback Book:

Best Cover Illustration – Magazine:

  • John Picacio, for Asimov’s Science Fiction (9/09)
  • Les Edwards, for Cemetery Dance (10/09)
  • Bob Eggleton, for Analog Science Fiction and Fact (10/09)
  • David A. Hardy, for The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction (11-12/09)
  • Kazuhiko Nakamura, for Clarkesworld (#38)
    David Palumbo, for Heavy Metal (11/09)
  • Adam Tredowski, for Interzone (2/09)

Best Interior Illustration:

Best Color Work—Unpublished:

  • Raol Vitale, for “Unrequited”
  • Eric Fortune, for “Allure”
  • Rebecca Guay, for “Gwenevere”
  • Patrick Jones, for “Death of Diana”
  • Michael Whelan, for “Lumen 5”
  • Mark Zug, for “Helium”

Best Monochrome Work – Unpublished:

  • Justin Gerard, for “Steampunk Wizard of Oz”
  • Jim Burns, for “Pod Shift”
  • Eric Fortune, for “Hollowed”
  • Sheila Rayyan, for “Faces of You”
  • L.A. Williams, for “Lost Love”

Best Three-Dimensional Art:

  • Vincent Villafranca, for “The Switching Hour”
  • Tom Kuebler, for “Grandma Hoodoo & Zombie John”
  • Kris Kuksi, for “Anglo-Parisian Barnstormer”
  • David Meng, for “Satyr’s Head”
  • Charles Vess & David Spence, for “Titania”

Best Gaming-Related Illustration:

  • Lucas Graciano, for “Silverwing”
  • Daren Bader, for “Boarguts the Impaler” from Drums of War (World of Warcraft Trading Cards)
  • Volkan Baga, for “Joraga Bard” from Zendikar (World of Warcraft Trading Cards)
  • Kekai Kotaki, for “Lorthos the Tidemaker” from Zendikar (World of Warcraft Trading Cards)
  • Todd Lockwood, for “Kalitas, Bloodchief of Ghet” from Zendikar (World of Warcraft Trading Cards)
  • Matthew Stewart, for “Serendib Efreet” (Magic: the Gathering Trading Card)

Best Product Illustration:

  • Matthew Stewart, for “Battle Under the Mountain”
  • Scott Gustafson, for “A Confabulation of Dragons”
  • Kokai Kotaki, for “Guild Wars 2” concept art
  • Gregory Manchess, for “Above the Timberline” greeting card
  • Ian Miller, for “Cthulhu Temple”
  • Jordu Schell, for “Na’vi character design” from Avatar

Best Art Director:

  • Irene Gallo, for Tor
  • Lou Anders, for Pyr
  • Jeremy Jarvis, for Wizards of the Coast
  • Jon Schindehette, for Wizards of the Coast
  • Jerad Walters, for Centipede

Contribution to ASFA:

  • Ingrid Neilson, for work on the Chesley Awards for 20+ years
  • Mike Willmoth, for maintaining the organization of ASFA, 2007-2009
  • Patrick & Jeannie Wilshire, for hosting the Chesley Awards Ceremony at IlluXCon 2

Award for Artistic Achievement:

  • Greg Hildebrandt
  • Brom
  • Larry Elmore
  • Ian Miller
  • Boris Vallejo


Pingback from Tweets that mention Locus Online News » Chesley Awards Winners —
Time Fri 6 August 2010 at 10:36 pm

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by brendacooper, Locus Magazine. Locus Magazine said: Chesley Awards Winners: […]

Pingback from Chesley Award for John Picacio « LepreCon 37
Time Sat 21 August 2010 at 6:16 pm

[…] Award for John Picacio LepreCon 37 Artist Guest of Honor John Picacio was awarded a Chesley Award for Best Magazine Cover Illustration for my cover art for the September 2009 issue of […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.