The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for September, 2010

2010 Geffen Awards Winners

The 2010 Geffen Awards winners have been announced: Best Translated Science Fiction Book: Isaac Asimov’s Collected Short Stories, Vol. 1, Isaac Asimov (Moby Dick) Best Translated Fantasy Book Nation, Terry Prachett (Kidmat Eden) Best Israeli Short Story “Doctor Watson and Mr. Holmes – or – The Curse of the Penningtons”, Vered Tochterman (Once Upon a Future) […]

Trilobite Named in Honor of Baxter

Czech scientists named a new species of trilobite in honor of  SF author Stephen Baxter’s Xeelee series. The pre-historic creature was discovered in the Czech republic; the derivatio nominis is Xeelee – “a legendary civilization of very advanced extraterrestrial beings forming a mainstay of [the] excellent science fiction sequence of Stephen Baxter.” Baxter writes, “The […]

Ralph M. Vicinanza, 1950-2010

Legendary literary agent Ralph Vicinanza, 60, died without warning in his sleep on September 25, 2010 at his home in Old Brookville NY, from what was apparently a cerebral aneurysm. For over two decades, Vicinanza earned worldwide recognition for his vision in opening the international marketplace for US authors, predominantly in the science fiction and […]

2010 Sunburst Awards Winners

The winners of the Sunburst Awards for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic were announced: Adult: Indigo Springs, A.M. Dellamonica (Tor) The Mystery of Grace, Charles de Lint (Tor) Makers, Cory Doctorow (Tor) The Sunless Countries, Karl Schroeder (Tor) Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor) Young Adult: Half World, Hiromi Goto (Puffin Canada) […]

Jennifer Rardin (1965-2010)

Orbit Books has reported that Jennifer Rardin, author of the Jaz Parks urban fantasy series, died unexpectedly on September 20, 2010 at age 45. No further details are available at this time. Rardin was born April 28, 1965. First novel Once Bitten, Twice Shy appeared in October 2007. The seventh and final book in the […]

Ellison’s Final Convention

SF Grandmaster Harlan Ellison, 76, has announced that his final convention appearance will be this weekend at MadCon (Sept. 24-26 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Madison WI), where he is guest of honor. There was some doubt that he would make it to the convention due to poor health, but his attendance has been […]

2010 Emperor Norton Awards Winners

The 2010 Emperor Norton Awards winners are: Boilerplate: History’s Mechanical Marvel, Paul Guinan & Anina Bennett (Abrams Image) Trina Robbins, for her career in comics The awards are given for “extraordinary invention and creativity unhindered by the constraints of paltry reason,” in memory of Joshua Norton I, Emperor of the United States of America and […]

Al Williamson, 2010 Spectrum Grand Master

Al Williamson is the winner of the 2010 Spectrum Grand Master Award, presented to a living artist whose exceptional career has influenced readers and fellow artists; Williamson passed away June 12, 2010. “The Advisory Board selected Al for this honor back in February,” says Cathy Fenner, co-director of Spectrum Fantastic Art. “So while this announcement […]

2010 British Fantasy Awards Winners

The British Fantasy Society has announced the winners of the 2010 British Fantasy Awards: Best Novel (The August Derleth Fantasy Award): One, Conrad Williams (Virgin) Best Served Cold, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz) The Naming of the Beasts, Mike Carey (Orbit) Under the Dome, Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton) Futile Flame, Sam Stone (House of Murky Depths) […]

Writers and Illustrators of the Future Winners

Winners of the Writers and Illustrators of the Future competition were announced at the 26th anniversary gala and banquet held August 28, 2010 at the Roosevelt Hotel in Los Angeles. Laurie Tom won the $5,000 grand prize for story “Living Rooms”, and Seth J. Rowanwood won the artist’s grand prize for his illustration of Jason […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.