The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2010 Sunburst Awards Winners

The winners of the Sunburst Awards for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic were announced:


  • Indigo Springs, A.M. Dellamonica (Tor)
  • The Mystery of Grace, Charles de Lint (Tor)
  • Makers, Cory Doctorow (Tor)
  • The Sunless Countries, Karl Schroeder (Tor)
  • Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)

Young Adult:

  • Half World, Hiromi Goto (Puffin Canada)
  • Give Up the Ghost, Megan Crewe (Henry Holt)
  • Amy By Any Other Name, Maureen Garvie (Key Porter)
  • Wondrous Strange, Lesley Livingston (HarperTeen)
  • The Hunchback Assignment, Arthur Slade (Lamb)

The Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is a prized and juried award presented annually. It is based on excellence of writing and awarded to a Canadian writer who has published a speculative fiction novel or book-length collection any time during the previous calendar year. Named after the novel by Phyllis Gotlieb (1926-2009), one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian speculative fiction, the award consists of a cash prize of $1,000 and a hand-crafted medallion which incorporates a “Sunburst” logo, designed by Marcel Gagné.

2010 jurors were Don Bassingthwaite, Gemma Files, Susie Moloney, Ursula Pflug, and Ed Willett. The 2011 Award jurors will be Julie Czerneda, Kate Freiman, Mark Leslie, Christopher Roden, and Alison Sinclair. For more information about previous awards, eligibility, and the selection process, please visit the website at <>.


Pingback from SF Signal: SF Tidbits for 9/29/10
Time Tue 28 September 2010 at 11:24 pm

[…] Steampunk Stories TOC.Giveaway: Clockwork Phoenix 3.Australian Speculative Fiction Blog Carnival.2010 Sunburst Awards Winners.Trent Reznor making a sci-fi series Year Zero for HBO. Amazon Debuts "Kindle for the Web". . Events […]

Pingback from Suburban thriller novel takes home Sunburst literary prize : MEGABEST
Time Thu 30 September 2010 at 7:05 am

[…] Locus Publications, The Sunburst Award Related Posts: John le Carré and the 50 greatest post-war British writers […]

Pingback from Scattered blogging, with a high chance of gratitude | A.M. Dellamonica
Time Fri 1 October 2010 at 7:00 am

[…] tried to thank each and every person who wrote, commented, or DMed me to say congratulations on the Sunburst Award. If I missed you somehow, sorry, and thank you! Word is continuing to ripple out… I […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.