The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Last Drink Bird Head Awards

The second annual Last Drink Bird Head Awards were presented October 23, 2010 at Capclave in Washington DC. The awards “celebrate those in the genre community who enrich us with their time, energy, and words, for causes greater than themselves.” The winners are:

Gentle Advocacy:

Tireless Energy

  • Leslie Howle (for her work with Clarion West and Hugo House)

Promotion of Reading

  • Colleen Cahill (for Library of Congress work as a genre fiction advocate, and as the library’s representative to the ALA)

Expanding Our Vocabulary

  • Matthew Cheney

International Activism

The Neil Clarke Special Achievement Award

  • L. Timmel Duchamp

Neil Clarke and Ann & Jeff VanderMeer presided over the ceremony. Winners receive a bird head figurine, a certificate, and chocolate. For more details — including an explanation of the categories — see Jeff VanderMeer’s blog.


Pingback from Tweets that mention Locus Online News » Last Drink Bird Head Awards —
Time Mon 1 November 2010 at 8:14 am

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Kevin Steil, Jaymee Goh, Doctor Fantastique, Matthew Delman, The SpecFic Database and others. The SpecFic Database said: RT @writersyndrome: Last Drink Bird Head Awards Featured on Locus Magazine Online: #sci-fi #squee […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.