The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2009 Carl Brandon Awards Winners

The Carl Brandon Society has announced that Half World by Hiromi Goto and Liar by Justine Larbalestier are the 2009 Carl Brandon Awards winners. Half World won the Carl Brandon Parallax Award, given to works of speculative fiction created by a self-identified person of color, and Liar was awarded the Carl Brandon Kindred Award, given to any work of speculative fiction dealing with issues of race and ethnicity. Each award winner will receive a $1000 cash prize. The awards will be presented January 16, 2011 in Boston Massachusetts  at the Arisia science fiction conventionCarl Brandon Awards nominations are open through February 28, 2011 for works written in 2010.


Pingback from Tweets that mention Locus Online News » 2009 Carl Brandon Awards Winners —
Time Mon 3 January 2011 at 4:46 pm

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by SF Signal (John D.). SF Signal (John D.) said: RT @locusmag: 2009 Carl Brandon Awards Winners […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.