The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Bacigalupi and Pratchett Win ALA Awards

Paolo Bacigalupi’s Ship Breaker (Little, Brown) won the 2011 Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in young adult literature, announced January 10, 2011 at the American Library Association midwinter conference in San Diego.

Terry Pratchett received the Margaret A. Edwards Award for lifetime contribution in writing for young adults.

Also of genre interest: the Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production went to The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex, narrated by Bahni Turpin (Listening Library).

Publishers Weekly has the full list of ALA award winners and honor books.


Pingback from Tweets that mention Locus Online News » Bacigalupi and Pratchett Win ALA Awards —
Time Mon 10 January 2011 at 11:13 am

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Nalo Hopkinson, Renovationsf, Govert Schipper and others. Govert Schipper said: Ship Breaker is a fantastic novel! RT @locusmag: Bacigalupi and Pratchett Win ALA Awards […]

Pingback from Fantasy Literature’s Fantasy Book and Audiobook Reviews
Time Wed 12 January 2011 at 9:02 am

[…] Paolo Bacigalupi and Terry Pratchett:Take home a couple ALA Awards […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.