The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Karen Lord Wins Crawford Award

Karen Lord has been named the winner of the 2011 William L. Crawford Award for her first novel Redemption in Indigo (Small Beer Press). The award, presented annually at The International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, is for a new fantasy writer whose first book appeared in the previous year. This year’s conference will be held March 16-20, 2010 in Orlando FL.

The award committee shortlisted Lauren Beukes’s Zoo City (Angry Robot), N.K. Jemisin’s The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms (Orbit), and Anna Kendall’s Crossing Over (Gollancz/Viking Juvenile), and wanted to commend two other authors: Robert Jackson Bennett for Mr. Shivers (Orbit) and Amelia Beamer The Loving Dead (Night Shade), which was viewed by some nominators as centrally a science fiction work. Science fiction is excluded under the terms established by the award’s founding sponsor, Andre Norton.

Those participating, in varying degrees, in this year’s nomination and selection process included Niall Harrison, Cheryl Morgan, Graham Sleight, Paul Witcover, John Clute, Jonathan Strahan, Liza Trombi, Farah Mendlesohn, Ellen Klages, and Kelly Link (who, as publisher of Small Beer Press, recused herself from final voting).


Pingback from Tweets that mention Locus Online News » Karen Lord Wins Crawford Award —
Time Fri 28 January 2011 at 10:39 am

[…] This post was mentioned on Twitter by tobiasbuckell, Gwenda Bond, Niall Harrison, Nora, Nora and others. Nora said: RT @Gwenda: Awesome news–yay, @smallbeerpress! RT @locusmag Karen Lord Wins Crawford Award […]

Pingback from The Crawford Award « … pure salt of the earth
Time Fri 28 January 2011 at 2:14 pm

[…] (Locusmag) […]

Pingback from Science Fiction Awards Watch » Blog Archive » 2011 Crawford Award Winner
Time Sat 29 January 2011 at 8:47 am

[…] Gary K. Wolfe has announced the winner of this year’s William L. Crawford Fantasy Award. This is an award for a first fantasy book. […]

Pingback from 2011 Crawford Award | 73Shelves
Time Sat 29 January 2011 at 9:06 am

[…] from the Locus Online newsroom: Karen Lord has been named the winner of the 2011 William L. Crawford Award for her first novel […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.