The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2010 Stoker Final Ballot

The 2010 Stoker Final Ballot has been released:

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Horns, Joe Hill (William Morrow)
  • Rot and Ruin, Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster)
  • Dead Love, Linda Watanabe McFerrin (Stone Bridge Press)
  • Apocalypse of the Dead, Joe McKinney (Pinnacle)
  • Dweller, Jeff Strand (Leisure/Dark Regions Press)
  • A Dark Matter, Peter Straub (DoubleDay)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Black and Orange, Benjamin Kane Ethridge (Bad Moon Books)
  • A Book of Tongues, Gemma Files (ChiZine)
  • Castle of Los Angeles, Lisa Morton (Gray Friar)
  • Spellbent, Lucy Snyder (Del Rey)

Superior Achievement Long Fiction

  • The Painted Darkness, Brian James Freeman (Cemetery Dance)
  • Dissolution, Lisa Mannetti (Deathwatch)
  • Monsters Among Us, Kirstyn McDermott (Macabre: A Journey through Australia’s Darkest Fears)
  • The Samhanach, Lisa Morton (Bad Moon Books)
  • Invisible Fences, Norman Prentiss (Cemetery Dance)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • “Return to Mariabronn”, Gary Braunbeck (Haunted Legends)
  • “The Folding Man”, Joe R. Lansdale (Haunted Legends)
  • “1925: A Fall River Halloween”, Lisa Mannetti (Shroud Magazine #10)
  • “In the Middle of Poplar Street”, Nate Southard (Dead Set: A Zombie Anthology)
  • “Final Draft”, Mark W. Worthen (Horror Library IV)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Dark Faith, Maurice Broaddus & Jerry Gordon, eds. (Apex)
  • Horror Library IV, R.J. Cavender & Boyd E. Harris, eds. (Cutting Block)
  • Macabre: A Journey Through Australia’s Darkest Fears, Angela Challis & Marty Young, eds. (Brimstone Press)
  • Haunted Legends, Ellen Datlow & Nick Mamatas, eds. (Tor)
  • The New Dead, Christopher Golden, ed. (St. Martin’s Griffin)

Superior Achievement in a Collection

  • Occultation, Laird Barron (Night Shade Books)
  • Blood and Gristle, Michael Louis Calvillo (Bad Moon Books)
  • Full Dark, No Stars, Stephen King (Simon & Schuster)
  • The Ones That Got Away, Stephen Graham Jones (Prime Books)
  • A Host of Shadows, Harry Shannon (Dark Regions)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • To Each Their Darkness, Gary A. Braunbeck (Apex)
  • The Conspiracy Against the Human Race, Thomas Ligotti (Hippocampus)
  • Wanted Undead or Alive, Jonathan Maberry & Janice Gable Bashman (Citadel)
  • Listen to the Echoes: The Ray Bradbury Interviews, Sam Weller (Melville House)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Dark Matters, Bruce Boston (Bad Moon Books)
  • Wild Hunt of the Stars, Ann K. Schwader (Sam’s Dot)
  • Diary of a Gentleman Diabolist, Robin Spriggs (Anomalous Books)
  • Vicious Romantic, Wrath James White (Needfire Poetry)

Winning titles will be announced at the Stoker Weekend in Long Island NY, June 16-19, 2011.


Pingback from Bram The Torpedoes : Joe Hill Fiction
Time Mon 28 February 2011 at 6:16 pm

[…] • I’m very flattered and excited and grateful to see HORNS made the final ballot for the Bram Stoker Awards for achievement in a novel. My congratulations to everyone else on this very cool list. Full ballot can be found here. […]

Pingback from | Richard Wright
Time Tue 1 March 2011 at 5:13 am

[…] if you really don't know what I'm on about, there's a new review here) has found itself on the final ballot of the Bram Stoker Awards, in the 'Superior Achievement in an anthology' category. What this means […]

Pingback from Dark Faith, Stoker Nominee :Maurice Broaddus
Time Tue 1 March 2011 at 6:08 am

[…] March 1, 2011 at 9:08 am The official ballot for the Bram Stoker awards has been announced.  Dark Faith is among some pretty good company.  So, to date Dark Faith has […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.