The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for March, 2011

Shaun Tan Wins Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Australian artist and writer Shaun Tan is the winner of the 2011 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, honoring children’s and young-adult literature. The award, which is presented by the Swedish Arts Council, is accompanied by a cash prize of 5 million krona ($764,600), and is the world’s largest financial award for children’s and young-adult works. Tan’s […]

Diana Wynne Jones (1934-2011)

Diana Wynne Jones, 76, died March 26, 2011 of cancer. Jones was a respected and prolific author of fantasy novels, many for children and young adults. She published over forty books, and the best known include the Chrestomanci series (1977-2006), Howl’s Moving Castle (1986), and satirical non-fiction work The Tough Guide to Fantasyland (1996). Born […]

2011 Ditmar Awards Ballot

The 2011 Ditmar Awards ballot, for Australian SF, has been announced: Best Novel Death Most Definite, Trent Jamieson (Hachette) Madigan Mine, Kirstyn McDermott (Pan Macmillan) Power and Majesty, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Voyager) Stormlord Rising, Glenda Larke (Voyager) Walking the Tree, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot) Best Novella or Novelette “Acception”, Tessa Kum (Eneit) “All the Clowns […]

Datlow and Feldstein Win HWA Life Achievement Awards

Editor Ellen Datlow and comics editor/artist/writer Al Feldstein will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards from the Horror Writers Association, to be presented June 18, 2011 in Long Island at the Stoker Awards Weekend.

April R. Derleth (1954-2011)

Publisher April R[ose] Derleth, 56, died March 21, 2011. The daughter of author August Derleth, April was co-owner of Arkham House with her brother Walden Derleth, and ran the company as president and CEO starting in 2002. April Derleth was born August 9, 1954. Her parents divorced when she was five years old, and her […]

Google Books Settlement Rejected

The controversial Google Books settlement has been rejected by US District Court judge Denny Chin. Chin’s conclusion says the settlement agreement “is not fair, adequate, and reasonable,” though he notes that many of his concerns “would be ameliorated if the ASA were converted from an ‘opt-out’ settlement to an ‘opt-in’ settlement.” While the motion for […]

2010 Aurealis Awards Finalists Announced

Finalists have been announced for the 2010 Aurealis Awards: Best Children’s Fiction (told primarily through words) Grimsdon, Deborah Abela (Random House) Ranger’s Apprentice #9: Halt’s Peril, John Flanagan (Random House) The Vulture of Sommerset, Stephen M. Giles (Pan Macmillan) The Keepers, Lian Tanner (Allen & Unwin) Haggis MacGregor and the Night of the Skull, Jen […]

2010 Tiptree Award Winner

Dubravka Ugresic’s Baba Yaga Laid an Egg (Canongate) is the winner of the 2010 James Tiptree, Jr. Award, given annually to works of science fiction or fantasy that explore and expand gender roles. Ugresic will receive $1,000 in prize money, original artwork created to honor the winning work, and chocolate. The Tiptree jury released an […]

2011 Jim Baen Memorial Contest Winners

Winners have been announced for the 2011 Jim Baen Memorial Writing Contest. Grand Prize: “That Undiscovered Country”, Nancy Fulda 2nd Place: “Gemini XVII”, Brad Torgersen 3rd Place: “Natural Selection”, Michael Simon The winning story will be featured on the Baen Books website and paid the normal professional publication rate. The contest is sponsored by Baen […]

2011 Lambda Awards SF/F/H Shortlist

The Lambda Literary Foundation has announced the shortlist for the 23rd Annual Lambda Literary Awards, celebrating excellence in LGBT literature. SF/Fantasy/Horror Diana Comet and Other Improbable Stories, Sandra MacDonald (Lethe) Disturbed by Her Song, Tanith Lee (Lethe) Flowers of Edo: A Ghost Story, Nene Adams (Black Car) Wilde Stories 2010: The Year’s Best Gay Speculative […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.