The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for April, 2011

Joanna Russ (1937-2011)

We have confirmation that Joanna Russ, 74, died this morning peacefully around 7:15 a.m. in hospice care in Tucson AZ. She has been ill since suffering a stroke in February 2011. Russ was a critic and SF writer, best known for The Female Man (1975). Born February 22, 1937 in New York City, she attended Cornell University, […]

Beukes Wins Arthur C. Clarke Award

The winner of the 2010 Arthur C. Clarke Award has been announced: Zoo City, Lauren Beukes (Angry Robot) The Dervish House, Ian McDonald (Gollancz) Monsters of Men, Patrick Ness (Walker) Generosity, Richard Powers (Atlantic) Declare, Tim Powers (Corvus) Lightborn, Tricia Sullivan (Orbit) The winner receives a £2011 prize and a commemorative engraved bookend. This year’s […]

SFWA Executive Director Jane Jewell Steps Down

SFWA announced that Jane Jewell plans to step down from her long-time role as SFWA Executive Director this year. Kate Baker has been hired as an interim office manager, effective immediately, to handle membership services and administrative duties. All messages sent to the SFWA Executive Director will be forwarded to Baker, who will pass Nebula-related […]

Ditmar and Other Australian Awards

Several Australian awards, including the Ditmar Awards and the Tin Duck Awards, were announced at Swancon 36/Natcon 50: The 2011 Ditmar Awards, for Australian SF: Best Novel Power and Majesty, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Voyager) Death Most Definite, Trent Jamieson (Hachette) Madigan Mine, Kirstyn McDermott (Pan Macmillan) Stormlord Rising, Glenda Larke (Voyager) Walking the Tree, Kaaron […]

2011 Philip K. Dick Award Winner Announced

The winner of the 2011 Philip K. Dick Award was announced on Friday April 22, 2011, at Norwescon 34 in SeaTac WA. The winner for the distinguished original science fiction paperback published for the first time during 2010 in the US is: The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack, Mark Hodder (Pyr) Special citation was […]

2010 BSFA Award Winners

Winners of the 2010 British Science Fiction Association Awards have been announced: Novel: The Dervish House, Ian McDonald (Gollancz) The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi (Orbit) Zoo City, Lauren Beukes (Angry Robot) The Restoration Game, Ken Macleod (Orbit) Lightborn, Tricia Sullivan (Orbit) Short Fiction “The Shipmaker”, Aliette de Bodard (Interzone #231) ‘‘Flying in the Face of […]

2011 Hugo and Campbell Awards Nominees

Nominees for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer have been announced by Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention, to be held in Reno, Nevada, August 17-21, 2011. The Hugo Awards ceremony will take place August 20, 2011. BEST NOVEL Cryoburn, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen) Feed, Mira […]

Shaun Tan Named as WotF Judge

Academy Award winning artist Shaun Tan has been named as a judge for the L. Ron Hubbard Illustrators of the Future Contest. He joins a list of other notable science fiction and fantasy illustrators who also serve as judges for the contest, including new judges Dave Dorman and Robert Castillo, as well as veteran judges […]

2010 Shirley Jackson Awards Shortlist

The 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards nominees have been announced. The awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction. Novel Dark Matter, Michelle Paver (Orion) A Dark Matter, Peter Straub (Doubleday) Feed, Mira Grant (Orbit) Mr. Shivers, Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit) The Reapers Are the Angels, Alden Bell (Holt) The […]

World Fantasy 2013 Open for Registration

The 2013 World Fantasy Convention is open for registration, with an Early Bird Attending Membership rate of £75.00 available until October 30, 2011. The convention will be held in the month of October, 2013, in Brighton, UK, at the seaside Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel, which has previously hosted the 1979 and 1987 Worldcons. This is […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.