The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Ditmar and Other Australian Awards

Several Australian awards, including the Ditmar Awards and the Tin Duck Awards, were announced at Swancon 36/Natcon 50:

The 2011 Ditmar Awards, for Australian SF:

Best Novel

Best Novella or Novelette

  • “The Company Articles of Edward Teach”, Thoraiya Dyer (Twelfth Planet)
  • “Acception”, Tessa Kum (Eneit)
  • “All the Clowns in Clowntown”, Andrew McKiernan (Brimstone)
  • “Bleed”, Peter M. Ball (Twelfth Planet)
  • “Her Gallant Needs”, Paul Haines (Twelfth Planet)

Best Short Story (tie)

  • “All the Love in the World”, Cat Sparks (Sprawl)
  • “She Said”, Kirstyn McDermott (Scenes From the Second Storey)
  • “Bread and Circuses”, Felicity Dowker (Scary Kisses)
  • “One Saturday Night With Angel”, Peter M. Ball (Sprawl)
  • “The House of the Nameless”, Jason Fischer (Writers of the Future XXVI)
  • “The February Dragon”, Angela Slatter & Lisa L. Hannett (Scary Kisses)

Best Collected Work

  • Sprawl, Alisa Krasnostein, ed. (Twelfth Planet)
  • Baggage, Gillian Polack, ed. (Eneit)
  • Macabre: A Journey through Australia’s Darkest Fears, Angela Challis & Marty Young, eds. (Brimstone)
  • Scenes from the Second Storey, Amanda Pillar & Pete Kempshall, eds. (Morrigan)
  • Worlds Next Door, Tehani Wessely, ed. (FableCroft)

Best Artwork

  • “The Lost Thing” short film (Passion Pictures) Andrew Ruhemann & Shaun Tan
  • Cover art, The Angaelien Apocalypse/ The Company Articles of Edward Teach (Twelfth Planet) Dion Hamill
  • Cover art, Australis Imaginarium (FabelCroft) Shaun Tan
  • Cover art, Dead Sea Fruit (Ticonderoga) Olga Read
  • Cover art, The Girl With No Hands (Ticonderoga) Lisa L. Hannett

Best Fan Writer

  • Alexandra Pierce, for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus
  • Robert Hood, for Undead Backbrain
  • Chuck McKenzie, for work in Horrorscope
  • Tehani Wessely, for body of work including reviews at Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus

Best Fan Artist

  • Amanda Rainey, for Swancon 36 logo
  • Rachel Holkner, for Continuum 6 props
  • Dick Jenssen, for cover art of Interstellar Ramjet Scoop

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium

  • Galactic Suburbia podcast, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayer Roberts, & Alex Pierce
  • Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus, Alisa Krasnostein et al., eds.
  • Bad Film Diaries podcast, Grant Watson
  • Terra Incognita podcast, Keith Stevenson
  • The Coode Street podcast, Gary K. Wolfe & Jonathan Strahan
  • The Writer and the Critic podcast, Kirstyn McDermott & Ian Mond

Best Achievement

  • Alisa Krasnostein, Kathryn Linge, Rachel Holkner, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts, & Tehani Wessely, Snapshot 2010
  • Helen Merrick & Andrew Milner, Academic Stream for Aussiecon 4
  • Amanda Rainey, cover design for Scary Kisses
  • Kyla Ward, Horror Stream and The Nightmare Ball for Aussiecon 4
  • Grant Watson, Media Stream for Aussiecon 4

Best New Talent

  • Thoraiya Dyer
  • Lisa L. Hannett
  • Patty Jansen
  • Kathleen Jennings
  • Pete Kempshall

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review

The Tin Duck Awards (Western Australia’s fan-voted awards) were also presented during Swancon 36/Natcon 50:

Written, Long Form

Written, Short Form

  • “Signature Walk”, Pete Kempshall

Professional Art

  • Cover Design of Sprawl, Amanda Rainey

Professional Production

  • Sprawl, Alisa Krasnostein, ed. (Twelfth Planet)

Fan Art

  • tie: “Fallen Angel”, Christina Lorenz; Swancon Thirty Six Logo, Amanda Rainey

Fan Written

  • Reviews at ASiF!, Tehani Wessely

Fan Production

  • Galactic Surburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Alex Pierce and Tansy Rayner Roberts

Several other awards were also presented: Paul Collins is the winner of the A. Bertram Chandler Award.  The Norma K. Hemming Award went to Diamond Eyes by Anita A. Bell, and the Peter McNamara Award went to Lucy Sussex.

For more information, see the Ditmar Awards Website, and SF Awards Watch’s posts on the Ditmar Awards, the Tin Ducks, and Other Australian Awards.


Pingback from April 26, 2011 Links and Plugs : Hobbies and Rides
Time Tue 26 April 2011 at 7:47 am

[…] Ditmar and Other Australian Awards. […]

Pingback from Swancon: There and Back Again « Lisa Hannett
Time Thu 28 April 2011 at 1:42 am

[…] are online. Raised a glass to all the Ditmar and Tin Duck winners after the ceremony was over – Locus has a list of nominees and winners over here – and I was so happy to see that Sprawl got a couple of nods, and that Kirstyn’s amazing […]

Pingback from Ditmars Awards and Myth-Information « Kirstyn McDermott
Time Sat 30 April 2011 at 1:49 am

[…] and Tin Duck Awards. If you’ve not yet seen the results, they are listed in full at the Locus website. A bunch of folks won multiple awards on the night and one small press publisher, Twelfth Planet […]

Pingback from The Writer and the Critic: Episode 7 « Kirstyn McDermott
Time Thu 5 May 2011 at 4:07 am

[…] sees your hosts, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond, discuss the results of the recently announced Ditmar and Tin Duck Awards and dissect the almost inevitable Great Ditmar Controversy of 2011 that exploded onto the interwebs […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.