The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Terry Pratchett’s First Novel Prize Shortlist Announced

The Terry Pratchett Anywhere But Here, Anywhen But Now First Novel Prize shortlist has been announced:

  • Postponing Armageddon, Adele Abbott
  • The Platinum Ticket, Dave Beynon
  • Half Sick of Shadows, David Logan
  • Apocalypse Cow, Michael Logan
  • Lun, Andrew Salomon
  • The Coven at Callington, Shereen Vedam

The award, launched in 2010 by Sir Terry Pratchett and Transworld Publishers, is for an unpublished first novel “set on Earth, although it may be an Earth that might have been, or might yet be, one that has gone down a different leg of the famous trousers of time.”

The winning writer will be offered a £20,000 prize as an advance against royalties on a publishing contract with Transworld. At Transworld’s discretion, shortlisted novels may also be offered publishing deals.

Judges will be Sir Terry Pratchett; Tony Robinson; Michael Rowley of Waterstone’s; Marianne Velmans, Publishing Director of Doubleday; and Simon Taylor, Editorial Director at Transworld Publishers. Pratchett will announce the winner at a party to be held May 31, 2011.

Contest details are available at Sir Terry Pratchett’s official website.


Pingback from SOUTH DIVAS – Terry Pratchett’s First Novel Prize Shortlist Announced – Locus Online
Time Mon 4 April 2011 at 7:08 pm

[…] this link: Terry Pratchett’s First Novel Prize Shortlist Announced – Locus Online └ Tags: april, first-novel, img-alt, listed-below, locus-online, online, prize, […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.