The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for May, 2011

2011 Writers/Illustrators of the Future Awards

The winner of the 2011 Writers of the Future Gold Award was R.P.L Johnson for his story “In Apprehension, How Like a God”. The winner of the Illustrators of the Future Gold Award was Irvin Rodriguez. Both were honored at a ceremony held May 15, 2011 in Hollywood CA, where they received large Lucite trophies […]

Knapp Wins 2011 Compton Crook Award

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society has announced that James Knapp is the winner of the 2011 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award for State of Decay (Roc). The award, which honors the best first SF/fantasy/horror novel of the year, will be presented at Balticon 45, where Knapp will receive an award plaque and check for $1,000 on […]

2011 AnLab and Asimov’s Readers’ Awards

Analog Science Fiction and Fact and Asimov’s Science Fiction announced their readers’ award winners on Saturday May 21, during the Nebula Awards weekend. The winners of Analog‘s Analytical Laboratory (AnLab) Awards are: Best Novella “Phantom Sense” by Richard A. Lovett & Mark Niemann-Ross (11/10) Best Novelette “Outbound” by Brad R. Torgersen (11/10) Best Short Story […]

2011 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the 2011 Mythopoeic Award Finalists. Winners will be announced at Mythcon 42, to be held July 15-18, 2011, in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature: Under Heaven, Guy Gavriel Kay (Roc) Redemption in Indigo, Karen Lord (Small Beer Press) The Bards of Bone Plain, Patricia A. McKillip […]

SFWA Election Results

The results of the SFWA officers’ election were announced during the 2011 Nebula Awards Weekend at the SFWA business meeting. President: John Scalzi Vice President: Mary Robinette Kowal Secretary: Robert J. Howe Treasurer: Bud Sparhawk Eastern Regional Director: Catherynne M. Valente For more information, see SF Site or the Science Fiction Writers of America page.

2010 Nebula Awards Winners

The 2010 Nebula Awards were presented on Saturday, May 21, 2011 in a ceremony at the Nebula Awards Weekend, held in Washington DC. Michael Swanwick was Toastmaster, and Michael Dirda gave the keynote address. Novel Blackout/All Clear, Connie Willis (Spectra) The Native Star, M.K. Hobson (Spectra) The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit UK; Orbit […]

2011 Aurora Award Nominees

Nominees for the 2011 Prix Aurora Awards have been announced. The awards will be presented on November 20, 2011 during Canvention 31. Winners will receive trophies and the Best Novel winner will receive a $500 cash prize from SF Canada, the National Association for Speculative Fiction Professionals. PROFESSIONAL AWARDS Best English Novel Black Bottle Man, […]

Jeffrey Catherine Jones (1944-2011)

Artist Jeffrey Catherine Jones, 67, died May 18, 2011 of complications from emphysema and heart trouble. Jones was a prolific fantasy artist, best known for her iconic cover paintings for Fritz Leiber’s Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser novels in the ’70s. She also did work for books by Andre Norton, Dean Koontz, Robert E. Howard, […]

Schelling and Lotts to Leave Vicinanza Agency

Chris Lotts and Christopher Schelling have announced they have left Ralph Vicinanza Ltd. to open their own agencies. The Lotts Agency will continue to represent commercial fiction and targeted upmarket non-fiction in a mix of domestic and foreign rights, working on behalf of Stephen King, Robert Silverberg, George R.R. Martin, Robin Hobb, Connie Willis, Robert […]

Nebula Awards Weekend Mass Signing

A mass autographing event will be open to the public at the 2011 Nebula Awards Weekend. Forty authors plan to participate, with copies of their books available for sale during the SFWA-sponsored event. All visitors are welcome at the Washington Hilton, 1919 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, D.C, from 5:30 to 7:00 PM, May 20, 2011. […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.