The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for June, 2011

2011 Sunburst Award Shortlist

Finalists for the tenth annual  Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic have been announced: Adult: Under Heaven, Guy Gavriel Kay (Penguin Canada) WWW: Watch, Robert J. Sawyer  (Penguin Canada) Chimerascope, Douglas Smith (ChiZine) A Taint in the Blood, S.M. Stirling (New American Library) Stealing Home, Hayden Trenholm (Bundoran Press) Young Adult: […]

2011 British Fantasy Award Nominees

The British Fantasy Society has announced finalists for their 2011 British Fantasy Awards. The nominees are: Best Novel (The August Derleth Fantasy Award): Apartment 16, Adam Nevill (Pan Macmillan) Demon Dance, Sam Stone (The House of Murky Depths) The Leaping, Tom Fletcher (Quercus) Pretty Little Dead Things, Gary McMahon (Angry Robot) The Silent Land, Graham Joyce […]

Ness wins Carnegie Medal

Patrick Ness’s Monsters of Men is the winner of the prestigious 2011 Carnegie Medal, awarded to “the most outstanding book for children” published in the UK. Monsters of Men is the third book in the Chaos Walking trilogy and its first two installments, The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Ask and the Answer, were shortlisted […]

2011 Gemmell Award Winners

The 2011 David Gemmell Legend Awards winners have been announced: The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel: The Way of Kings, Brandon Sanderson (Tor) The Desert Spear, Peter V. Brett (Voyager) War of the Dwarves, Markus Heitz (Orbit) Towers of Midnight, Robert Jordan & Brandon Sanderson (Tor) The Alchemist in the Shadow, Pierre Pevel (Gollancz) The […]

The 2010 Sidewise Award Finalists

The 2010 Sidewise Award Finalists have been announced: Short Form: Mammoths of the Great Plains, Eleanor Arnason (PM Press) “Alter Kameraden,” Barry B. Longyear (Asimov’s, 4/10) “Sidewinders,” Ken MacLeod, in The Mammoth Book of Alternate Histories, ed. Ian Watson and Ian Whates (Robinson Publishing/Running Press) “A Clash of Eagles,” Alan Smale, in Panverse Two, Derwin […]

2011 Science Fiction and Fantasy Translation Award

2011 Science Fiction & Fantasy Translation Award winners were announced at the 2011 Eurocon in Stockholm: Long Form Winner A Life on Paper: Stories, Georges-Olivier Chateaureynaud, translated by Edward Gauvin (Small Beer Press). Original publication in French (1976-2005). Long Form Honorable Mention: The Golden Age, Michal Ajvaz, translated by Andrew Oakland (Dalkey Archive Press). Originally […]

Martin H. Greenberg (1941-2011)

Anthologist and academic Martin H(arry) Greenberg, 70, died June 25, 2011 after a long battle with cancer. Greenberg held a doctorate in Political Science (1969) and taught at the University of Wisconsin — Green Bay until his retirement in 1996. He founded book packager Tekno Books, which produces about 150 titles per year and has […]

Locus Awards 2011 Winners

The winners of the 2011 Locus Awards have been announced: Best Science Fiction Novel Blackout/All Clear, Connie Willis (Spectra) Surface Detail, Iain M. Banks (Orbit UK; Orbit US) Cryoburn, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen) Zero History, William Gibson (Putnam; Viking UK) The Dervish House, Ian McDonald (Pyr; Gollancz) Best Fantasy Novel Kraken, China Miéville (Macmillan UK; […]

2010 Stoker Winners

The 2010 Stoker Award winners have been announced. Superior Achievement in a Novel A Dark Matter, Peter Straub (DoubleDay) Horns, Joe Hill (William Morrow) Rot and Ruin, Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster) Dead Love, Linda Watanabe McFerrin (Stone Bridge Press) Apocalypse of the Dead, Joe McKinney (Pinnacle) Dweller, Jeff Strand (Leisure/Dark Regions Press) Superior Achievement […]

Alan Ryan (1943-2011)

Writer and editor Alan Ryan, 68, died June 3, 2011 of pancreatic cancer in Brazil. Born May 17, 1943 in New York, Ryan was a prolific horror writer who won a World Fantasy Award for story “The Bones Wizard” (1984). Some of his short work was gathered in Quadriphobia (1986) and The Bones Wizard and Other […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.