The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

The 2010 Sidewise Award Finalists

The 2010 Sidewise Award Finalists have been announced:

Short Form:

  • Mammoths of the Great Plains, Eleanor Arnason (PM Press)
  • “Alter Kameraden,” Barry B. Longyear (Asimov’s, 4/10)
  • “Sidewinders,” Ken MacLeod, in The Mammoth Book of Alternate Histories, ed. Ian Watson and Ian Whates (Robinson Publishing/Running Press)
  • “A Clash of Eagles,” Alan Smale, in Panverse Two, Derwin Mak & Eric Choi, eds. (DAW)
  • “Goin’ Down to Anglotown”, William F. Wu, The Dragon and the Stars, Derwin Mak & Eric Choi, eds. (DAW)

Long Form

The winners will be announced at the 2011 Worldcon in Reno, Nevada. For more information, see the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History website.


Pingback from This Week in Mormon Literature, July 8, 2011 | Dawning of a Brighter Day
Time Fri 8 July 2011 at 6:20 am

[…] Swedin’s 2010 novel When Angels Wept is one of five finalists for the Sidewise Award for Alternative History (long form). The award will be announced at the World Science Fiction Convention in August. The novel’s […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.