The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2010 Shirley Jackson Award Winners

The 2010 Shirley Jackson Awards winners were presented during a ceremony at Readercon 22 in Burlington, Massachusetts on Sunday, July 18th, 2011. The awards are given for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction.


  • Mr. Shivers, Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit)
  • Dark Matter, Michelle Paver (Orion)
  • A Dark Matter, Peter Straub (Doubleday)
  • Feed, Mira Grant (Orbit)
  • The Reapers Are the Angels, Alden Bell (Holt)
  • The Silent Land, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)


  • “Mysterium Tremendum”, Laird Barron (Occultation)
  • The Broken Man, Michael Byers (PS)
  • Chasing the Dragon, Nicholas Kaufmann (ChiZine)
  • One Bloody Thing After Another, Joey Comeau (ECW)
  • Subtle Bodies, Peter Dubé (Lethe)
  • The Thief of Broken Toys, Tim Lebbon (ChiZine)


  • “The Truth Is a Cave in the Black Mountains”, Neil Gaiman (Stories)
  • “–30–”, Laird Barron (Occultation)
  • “The Broadsword”, Laird Barron (Black Wings)
  • “Holderhaven”, Richard Butner (Crimewave 11: Ghosts)
  • “The Redfield Girls”, Laird Barron (Haunted Legends)

Short Story

  • “The Things”, Peter Watts (Clarkesworld 1/10)
  • “As Red as Red”, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Haunted Legends)
  • “Booth’s Ghost”, Karen Joy Fowlder(What I Didn’t See and Other Stories)
  • “The Foxes”, Lily Hoang (Haunted Legends)
  • “six six six”, Laird Barron (Occultation)

Single-Author Collection

  • Occultation, Laird Barron (Night Shade)
  • The Ones That Got Away, Stephen Graham Jones (Prime)
  • The Third Bear, Jeff VanderMeer (Tachyon)
  • What I Didn’t See and Other Stories, Karen Joy Fowler (Small Beer)
  • What Will Come After, Scott Edelman (PS)

Edited Anthology

  • Stories, Neil Gaiman & Al Sarrantonio, eds. (Morrow)
  • Black Wings, S.T. Joshi, ed, (PS)
  • Haunted Legends, Ellen Datlow & Nick Mamatas, eds. (Tor)
  • My Mother, She Killed Me, My Father, He Ate Me, Kate Bernheimer, ed. (Penguin)
  • Swords & Dark Magic, Jonathan Strahan & Lou Anders, eds. (HarperCollins)

A Board of Directors special award to Joyce Carol Oates was also announced.


Pingback from Galactic Suburbia Episode 37 « Champagne and Socks
Time Sat 23 July 2011 at 3:01 am

[…] News The Locus Awards Prometheus Award winners Sturgeon and Campbell Awards Shirley Jackson Awards […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.