The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2011 Mythopoeic Awards

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the winners of the 2011 Mythopoeic Awards.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature:

  • Redemption in Indigo, Karen Lord (Small Beer Press)
  • Under Heaven, Guy Gavriel Kay (Roc)
  • The Bards of Bone Plain, Patricia A. McKillip (Ace)
  • A Cup of Normal, Devon Monk (Fairwood Press)
  • Troubled Waters, Sharon Shinn (Ace)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature:

  • The Queen’s Thief series: The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings, Megan Whalen Turner (Greenwillow)
  • Incarceron and Sapphique, Catherine Fisher (Dial)
  • I Shall Wear Midnight, Terry Pratchett (HarperCollins)
  • The Grimm Legacy, Polly Shulman (Putnam Juvenile)
  • Toads and Diamonds, Heather Tomlinson (Henry Holt)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies:

  • Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis, Michael Ward (Oxford University Press, 2008)
  • Middle-earth Minstrel: Essays on Music in Tolkien, Bradford Lee Eden, ed. (McFarland, 2010)
  • Tolkien on Fairy-stories: Expanded Edition, with Commentary and Notes, Verlyn Flieger & Douglas A. Anderson, eds. (HarperCollins, 2008)
  • Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion, Douglas Charles Kane (Lehigh Univ. Press, 2009)
  • The Power of Tolkien’s Prose: Middle-earth’s Magical Style, Steve Walker (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies:

  • The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale, Caroline Sumpter (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008)
  • Out of my Bone: The Letters of Joy Davidman, Don W. King, ed. (Eerdmans, 2009)
  • Cheek by Jowl, Ursula K. Le Guin (Aqueduct, 2009)
  • Rhetorics of Fantasy, Farah Mendlesohn (Wesleyan University Press, 2008)
  • Metamorphoses of the Werewolf: A Literary Study from Antiquity through the Renaissance, Leslie A. Sconduto (McFarland, 2008)

Winners were announced at Mythcon 42, held July 15-18, 2011, in Albuquerque, New Mexico. For more information, see the Mythopoeic Awards announcement.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.