The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2015 winners

2015 finalists:

2014 winners:

2013 Winners

[* links to sfadb pages with nominee indexing and cover images]



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Eisner Awards Winners

The 2011 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards were announced at Comic-Con International in San Diego, July 22, 2011. Some awards of particular interest to SF/fantasy fans follow:

Best Single Issue (or One-Shot):

  • Hellboy: Double Feature of Evil, by Mike Mignola & Richard Corben (Dark Horse)

Best New Series:

  • American Vampire, by Scott Snyder, Stephen King, & Rafael Albuquerque (Vertigo)

Best Adaptation from Another Work:

  • The Marvelous Land of Oz, by L. Frank Baum, adapted by Eric Shanower & Skottie Young (Marvel)

Best Archival Collection/Project-Comic Books:

  • Dave Stevens’ The Rocketeer Artist’s Edition, Scott Dunbier, ed. (IDW)

Best Writer:

  • Joe Hill for Locke & Key (IDW)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team:

  • Skottie Young, The Marvelous Land of Oz (Marvel)

Best Cover Artist:

  • Mike Mignola for Hellboy and Baltimore: The Plague Ships (Dark Horse)

Best Comics-Related Book:

  • 75 Years of DC Comics: The Art of Modern Mythmaking, by Paul Levitz (Taschen)

Best Publication Design:

  • Dave Stevens’s The Rocketeer Artist’s Edition, designed by Randall Dahlk (IDW)

Hall of Fame, Elected:

  • Mort Drucker, Harvey Pekar, Roy Thomas, Marv Wolfman

For more information, see SF Site.

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.