The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for August, 2011

2010 Sky Award Winners

The winners of the the 2010 Sky Awards were presented on August 27, 2011 in Shanghai, China. Best Fiction Long Form: Three Body III: Dead End, Liu Cixin (Chonqing Publishing House) Best Fiction Short Form: “Algorithm of Simhuman”, Chi Hui (Science Fiction World, May 2010) Most Popular Translated Fiction: Long Form: The Graveyard Book, Neil […]

Geoffrey Landis to Be Guest Instructor at 2012 Launchpad

Geoffrey Landis, award winning author and NASA scientist, will be teaching at the Launchpad astronomy workshop in July 2012. Landis’s novel Mars Crossing won the 2001 Locus Award for Best First Novel, and his short fiction has received Nebula and Hugo awards. Applications for Launchpad will open on March 1, 2012. The workshop will last one week, […]

Tiptree Motherboard Receives Clareson Award

The Science Fiction Research Association (SFRA) has presented the 2011 Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service to the Tiptree Motherboard (Karen Joy Fowler, Debbie Notkin, Ellen Klages, Jeanne Gomoll, Jeff Smith, and Pat Murphy), at the SFRA’s annual conference, held July 9, 2011 in Lublin, Poland.  The Clareson Award was presented to the Tiptree […]

Stephen King Launches ‘Provocative’ Radio Program

Horror writer Stephen King will launch a “deliberately skewed, left-leaning morning show” on two Bangor, Maine radio stations owned by King and his wife, WZON 103.1 FM and 620 AM. Regular hosts will be former gubernatorial candidate and journalist Pat LaMarche and Don Cookson, a former reporter and communications director for Maine’s Secretary of State. […]

William H. Patterson, Jr. Hospitalized

William H. Patterson, Jr. was hospitalized after returning home from Renovation with an attack of Diabetic Ketoacidosis. He underwent a transmetatarsal foot amputation. Patterson is the author of the Locus Award winning and Hugo nominated Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century: Volume 1 (1907-1948): Learning Curve.  For more information, see Patterson’s blog.

Rob Thurman Hospitalized

Author Rob Thurman was in a car accident last week, and is now hospitalized in critical condition, with her injuries complicated by double pneumonia. For more information, see her blog. Her agent Lucienne Diver writes, “People can leave notes or well wishes on her blog, or can send cards to me, and I’ll see that […]

Kaye to Buy Weird Tales

John Betancourt of Wildside Press is reportedly selling Weird Tales to editor and publisher Marvin Kaye. According to current editor-in-chief Ann VanderMeer, Kaye will edit the magazine himself, and no members of the current staff will be retained. VanderMeer’s last issue will be #359, to be published in February of 2012. The current issue is […]

2013 Worldcon: LoneStarCon 3

LoneStarCon won their bid to host the 2013 World Science Fiction Convention in voting held at Renovation. The 71st Worldcon will be held August 29 – September 2, 2013 at the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center in San Antonio TX. They received 694 of 760 votes cast. Guests of Honor include Ellen Datlow, James Gunn, […]

2011 Hugo and Campbell Awards Winners

Winners for the Hugo Awards and for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer were announced at a ceremony during Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention, held in Reno, Nevada, August 17-21, 2011. BEST NOVEL Blackout/All Clear, Connie Willis (Spectra) Cryoburn, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen) Feed, Mira Grant (Orbit) The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, […]

Smale and Swedin Win Sidewise Awards

Winners of the Sidewise Awards for Alternate History were announced on Thursday August 18, 2011 at Renovation. Winners are highlighted. Short Form: “A Clash of Eagles,” Alan Smale (Panverse Two) Mammoths of the Great Plains, Eleanor Arnason (PM Press) “Alter Kameraden,” Barry B. Longyear (Asimov’s 4-5/10) “Sidewinders,” Ken MacLeod (The Mammoth Book of Alternate Histories) […]

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.