The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Tiptree Motherboard Receives Clareson Award

The Science Fiction Research Association (SFRA) has presented the 2011 Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service to the Tiptree Motherboard (Karen Joy Fowler, Debbie Notkin, Ellen Klages, Jeanne Gomoll, Jeff Smith, and Pat Murphy), at the SFRA’s annual conference, held July 9, 2011 in Lublin, Poland. 

The Clareson Award was presented to the Tiptree Motherboard for “outstanding service activities – promotion of SF teaching and study, editing, reviewing, editorial writing, publishing, organizing meetings, mentoring, and leadership in SF/fantasy organizations.”

The first James Tiptree, Jr. Award was a typewriter made of chocolate, and all following awards have also included chocolate. For that reason, the SFRA presented the Motherboard with both a plaque and a Polish plum in chocolate dessert.

Karen Joy Fowler and Pat Murphy traveled to Poland to receive the award.

For more information, visit the SRFA website.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.