The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for September, 2011

Amazing Stories Trademark Acquired

Steve Davidson has acquired the trademark for Amazing Stories after former owner Hasbro let it lapse. Davidson is considering launching an online magazine under the name. More information can be found on his blog, The Crotchety Old Fan.

Sara Douglass (1957-2011)

Australian author Sara Warneke, 54, who wrote bestselling fantasy novels as Sara Douglass, died September 26, 2011 of cancer. Warneke was born June 2, 1957 in Penola Australia. She began publishing with BattleAxe (1995), and wrote more than 20 books, notably Aurealis Award winners Starman (1996), Enchanter (1996), and The Wounded Hawk (2001), as well […]

Mitchell Leaves Del Rey

Del Rey editor-in-chief Betsy Mitchell is taking early retirement, effective this December. Mitchell is one of the most accomplished editors in the field; she previously worked on the staff at Analog, was one of the first editors at Baen, served as associate publisher of Bantam Spectra, and founded the Aspect imprint for Warner Books before […]

Guran Leaves Juno, Joins Prime

Paula Guran is no longer editing for Juno Books, as of September 30, 2011. She is taking a position as senior editor with Prime Books, and will continue to edit anthologies for other publishers on a freelance basis. She has also left Weird Tales, where she was non-fiction editor and webmaster. Guran helped found the Juno […]

Jurors Announced for the 2011 Shirley Jackson Award

The jurors for the 2011 Shirley Jackson Award have been announced. They are: Laird Barron, Matthew Cheney, Maura McHugh, Kaaron Warren, and Gary K. Wolfe. The Shirley Jackson Award is an award recognizing the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing and are given for the best work of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic in […] to Give Away a Chicon Membership  is giving away a membership — either attending or supporting — to next year’s Worldcon in Chicago (August 30 – September 3, 2012 at the Hyatt Regency Chicago). Enter to win by  visiting the sweepstakes page at and leaving a comment. The giveaway is in part to note the completion of Jo Walton’s series of […]

Willis Wins 2011 Robert A. Heinlein Award

Connie Willis is the winner of the 2011 Robert A. Heinlein Award, given for outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space. Winners are chosen by a committee of SF authors chaired by Dr. Yoji Kondo, and receive a plaque, a sterling silver medallion, and two lapel […]

2011 WSFA Small Press Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2011 Washington Science Fiction Association Small Press Award for Short Fiction have been announced: “After the Dragon”, Sarah Monette (Fantasy 1/10) “Amaryllis”, Carrie Vaughn (Lightspeed 6/10) “The Cassandra Project”, Jack McDevitt  (Lightspeed 6/10) “The Days of Flaming Motorcycles”, Catherynne M. Valente (Dark Faith) “Enid and the Prince”, RJ Astruc (Worlds Next Door) […]

George R.R. Martin “Millionaire” has announced that George R.R. Martin has sold over a million Kindle e-books.  Martin said, “Groucho Marx one said, ‘I refuse to join any club that would have me as a member,’ but even Groucho might have made an exception for the Kindle Million Club. It’s a real thrill to be inducted into this […]

Mark W. Worthen (1962-2011)

Writer and editor Mark. W. Worthen, 49, died unexpectedly on September 19, 2011 in Columbia MO. Worthen was a horror writer, with short fiction appearing in various magazines and anthologies starting in 1993, including Stoker Award nominee “Final Draft” (2010). He was active in the Horror Writers Association for many years, serving as webmaster and […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.