The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2011 Emperor Norton Awards Winners

The 2011 Emperor Norton Awards winners are:

  • Steven R. Boyett for his novel Mortality Bridge (Subterranean)
  • Rudy Rucker for his autobiography Nested Scrolls (PS Publishing)

Both authors were on hand to receive their awards. The awards are given for “extraordinary invention and creativity unhindered by the constraints of paltry reason,” in memory of Joshua Norton I, the self-proclaimed Emperor of the United States of America and Protector of Mexico.

Two awards are presented, one to a single work of science fiction, fantasy, or horror, or to an author in these genres; the second to any creation, creator, or service relating to those genres. Norton judges are Richard Lupoff, Alan Beatts, and Jacob Weisman. Winners were announced at the Tachyon Publications Sixteenth Anniversary Party, held September 11, 2011 at Borderlands Books in San Francisco. The ceremony was attended by notable professionals including Peter S. Beagle, Lisa Goldstein, Ellen Klages, Nancy Kress, Jack Skillingstead, Nick Mamatas, Michael Blumlein, Terry Bisson, Grania Davis, Marty Halpern, Michael Kurland, Jeremy Lassen, and Kathleen Bartholomew.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.