The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

World Fantasy 2011 Winners

The World Fantasy Awards winners were announced at this year’s World Fantasy Convention, held October 27-30, 2011 in San Diego CA. (Lifetime Achievement winners are announced in advance of the event).

Winners are:

Best Novel

  • Who Fears Death, Nnedi Okorafor (DAW)
  • Zoo City, Lauren Beukes (Jacana South Africa; Angry Robot)
  • The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)
  • The Silent Land, Graham Joyce (Gollancz; Doubleday)
  • Under Heaven, Guy Gavriel Kay (Viking Canada; Roc; Harper Voyager UK)
  • Redemption In Indigo, Karen Lord (Small Beer)

Best Novella

  • “The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon”, Elizabeth Hand (Stories: All-New Tales)
  • Bone and Jewel Creatures, Elizabeth Bear (Subterranean)
  • The Broken Man, Michael Byers (PS)
  • The Thief of Broken Toys, Tim Lebbon (ChiZine Publications)
  • “The Mystery Knight”, George R.R. Martin (Warriors)
  • “The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen’s Window”, Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Summer 2010)

Best Short Fiction

  • “Fossil-Figures”, Joyce Carol Oates (Stories: All-New Tales)
  • “Beautiful Men” , Christopher Fowler (Visitants: Stories of Fallen Angels and Heavenly Hosts)
  • “Booth’s Ghost”, Karen Joy Fowler (What I Didn’t See and Other Stories)
  • “Ponies”, Kij Johnson ( 11/17/10)
  • “Tu Sufrimiento Shall Protect Us”, Mercurio D. Rivera (Black Static 8-9/10)

Best Anthology

  • My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me, Kate Bernheimer, ed. (Penguin)
  • The Way of the Wizard, John Joseph Adams, ed. (Prime)
  • Haunted Legends, Ellen Datlow & Nick Mamatas, eds. (Tor)
  • Stories: All-New Tales, Neil Gaiman & Al Sarrantonio, eds. (Morrow; Headline Review)
  • Black Wings: New Tales of Lovecraftian Horror, S.T. Joshi, ed. (PS)
  • Swords & Dark Magic, Jonathan Strahan & Lou Anders, eds. (Eos)

Best Collection

  • What I Didn’t See and Other Stories, Karen Joy Fowler (Small Beer)
  • The Ammonite Violin & Others, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Subterranean)
  • Holiday, M. Rickert (Golden Gryphon)
  • Sourdough and Other Stories, Angela Slatter (Tartarus)
  • The Third Bear, Jeff VanderMeer (Tachyon)

Best Artist

  • Kinuko Y. Craft
  • Vincent Chong
  • Richard A. Kirk
  • John Picacio
  • Shaun Tan

Special Award, Professional

  • Marc Gascoigne, for Angry Robot
  • John Joseph Adams, for editing and anthologies
  • Lou Anders, for editing at Pyr
  • Stéphane Marsan & Alain Névant, for Bragelonne
  • Brett Alexander Savory & Sandra Kasturi, for ChiZine Publications

Special Award, Non-Professional

  • Alisa Krasnostein, for Twelfth Planet Press
  • Stephen Jones, Michael Marshall Smith, & Amanda Foubister, for Brighton Shock!: The Souvenir Book Of The World Horror Convention 2010
  • Matthew Kressel, for Sybil’s Garage and Senses Five Press
  • Charles Tan, for Bibliophile Stalker
  • Lavie Tidhar, for The World SF Blog

The World Fantasy Awards Lifetime Achievement Winners for 2011 are Peter S. Beagle and Angélica Gorodischer. The awards are presented annually to individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to the fantasy field.


Pingback from Science Fiction Awards Watch » Blog Archive » World Fantasy Awards
Time Sun 30 October 2011 at 7:52 pm

[…] The full list of nominees along with the winners is on the World Fantasy Convention web site. Our thanks to Locus for the initial results. […]

Pingback from 2011 World Fantasy Award Winners » Electric Velocipede
Time Mon 31 October 2011 at 8:02 am

[…] Check out the complete list of nominees over at the Locus website. […]

Pingback from Co tam w fantastyce słychać? (24 X – 30 X 2011) | Zaginiona Biblioteka
Time Tue 1 November 2011 at 1:41 am

[…] dalej. Znani są już tegoroczni laureaci nagród World Fantasty Award. Za najlepszą powieść uznano Who Fears Death Nnedi Okorafor, natomiast w kategorii opowiadanie […]

Pingback from Still sick linkdump | Cora Buhlert
Time Tue 1 November 2011 at 6:19 am

[…] World Fantasy Award winners for 2011 have been announced. The best novel award goes to Nnedi Okorafor for Who Fears Death, while the two […]

Pingback from Locus Online Monitor » New Books, 1 November
Time Tue 1 November 2011 at 9:38 pm

[…] Neil Gaiman & Al Sarrantonio’s anthology Stories: All-New Tales, which story just won a World Fantasy Award. • The publisher’s site has this description. • The starred Publishers Weekly […]

Pingback from World Fantasy Award Winners – GamingAngels
Time Wed 2 November 2011 at 8:00 am

[…] World Fantasy Award Winners By: Quinn Tweet The winners for the World Fantasy Awards were announced this past weekend: […]

Pingback from Fantasy Literature’s Fantasy Book and Audiobook Reviews
Time Wed 2 November 2011 at 9:02 am

[…] World Fantasy 2011 Winners: My To-Be-Read list just got a little longer. Also be sure to check our Terry’s series of […]

Pingback from Co tam w fantastyce słychać? (31 X – 7 XI 2011) | Zaginiona Biblioteka
Time Mon 7 November 2011 at 1:54 pm

[…] z wydawnictw oraz wyniki World Fantasy Award, z listą laureatów można zapoznać się na tej […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.