The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for January, 2012

Lister Matheson (1948-2012)

Former Clarion director Lister Matheson, 63, died January 19, 2012 of complications from a form of aplastic anemia. Born May 19, 1948 in Glasgow, Scotland, Matheson spent nearly a decade as director of the Clarion Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers’ Workshop when it was held at Michigan State University in East Lansing MI. He retired […]

2012 Crawford Award Announced

Genevieve Valentine was named winner of the 2012 William L. Crawford Fantasy Award for her 2011 novel Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti (Prime). The award, which includes a cash prize, is presented annually at the International Conference on the Fantastic in the Arts, and is designated for an exceptionally promising writer whose first […]

2011 British Science Fiction Shortlist

The British Science Fiction Association has announced finalists for their 2011 BSFA Awards. The nominees are: Best Novel: Cyber Circus, Kim Lakin-Smith (Newcon Press) Embassytown, China Miéville (Macmillan) The Islanders, Christopher Priest (Gollancz) By Light Alone, Adam Roberts (Gollancz) Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing) Best Short Fiction “The Silver Wind”, Nina Allan (Interzone #233) “The Copenhagen […]

PulpFest Renames Award for Rusty Hevelin

In honor of fan Rusty Hevelin, the pulp magazine convention PulpFest is renaming its Munsey Award to the Rusty Hevelin Service Award (or Rusty, for short). Hevelin, who died December 27, 2011, was a major figure in pulp and science fiction fandom, and had been an active participant since the 1930s. The award is given […]

Con or Bust Auction Open for Donations

The Con or Bust auction, to raise funds for people of color to attend the SF convention of their choice, is currently open for offers from people interested in donating items for auction, and is also accepting direct donations. The auction will open for bidding February 11, 2012 at 12:01 a.m. EST and closes February […]

Vampire Novel of the Century Nominees

In memoriam of the 100th anniversary of Bram Stoker’s death, the Horror Writers Association (HWA) is presenting the Bram Stoker Vampire Novel of the Century Award for the vampire novel that has had the greatest impact on the horror genre since the publication of Dracula in 1897. Nominees, chosen by a jury of scholars and writers, […]

2011 Kitschies Nominees

Finalists for the 2011 Kitschies, awarded to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works of genre literature published in the U.K.” have been announced. Red Tentacle (Novel) The Enterprise of Death, Jesse Bullington (Orbit) Embassytown, China Miéville (Del Rey; Tor UK) A Monster Calls, Patrick Ness & Siobhan Dowd (Walker) The Testament of Jesse […]

Connie Willis Named SFWA Grand Master

The Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America named Connie Willis the recipient of the 2011 Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award. Willis has written fifteen novels, many short stories, and has previously won seven Nebulas, eleven Hugos, and four Locus Awards, among others. Willis is also beloved in the field for her generosity and sense […]

WSFA Small Press Award Nominations

The Washington Science Fiction Association is now accepting nominations for its Small Press Award, given annually to an outstanding story of “imaginative literature” (17,500 words or fewer) published in the small press. Authors and small-press publishers are eligible to nominate, and need not be members of WSFA. The award committee for this year is: Colleen […]

World Fantasy Judges Announced

The judges for the 2011 World Fantasy Awards have been empaneled. All forms of fantasy qualify; only living authors and editors are eligible; all books must have a 2011 publication date and all magazines a 2011 cover date. To be considered for awards, all materials must be received by all five judges and the convention […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.