The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2016 winners

2015 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2011 Kitschies Winners

Winners of the 2011 Kitschies, awarded to “the year’s most progressive, intelligent, and entertaining works of genre literature published in the U.K.” were  presented February 3, 2012 in a ceremony at the SFX Weekender 3 held at the Prestatyn Sands holiday camp in Wales.

Red Tentacle (Novel)

  • A Monster Calls, Patrick Ness & Siobhan Dowd (Walker)
  • The Enterprise of Death, Jesse Bullington (Orbit)
  • Embassytown, China Miéville (Del Rey; Tor UK)
  • The Testament of Jesse Lamb, Jane Rogers (Sandstone)
  • Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS)

Golden Tentacle (Debut Novel)

  • God’s War, Kameron Hurley (Night Shade)
  • Among Thieves, Douglas Hulick (Tor)
  • The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern (Doubleday; Harvill Secker)
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, Ransom Riggs (Quirk)
  • The Samaritan, Fred Venturini (Blank Slate)

Inky Tentacle (Cover Art)

  • The Last Werewolf, Glen Duncan, design by Peter Mendelsund (Canongate)
  • Rivers of London, Ben Aaronovitch, illustration by Stephen Walter, design by Patrick Knowles/TAG Fine Arts (Gollancz)
  • The Prague Cemetery, Umberto Eco, illustration by John Spencer, design by Suzanne Dean (Harvill Secker)
  • Equations of Life, Simon Morden, design by Lauren Panepinto (Orbit)
  • A Monster Calls, Patrick Ness & Siobhan Dowd, illustration by Jim Kay (Walker)

The “Black Tentacle,” an award presented at the discretion of the judges, went to the publisher SelfMadeHero.

The winner of the Red Tentacle received £750, and winners of the Golden Tentacle and Inky Tentacle won £250 each. All finalists received a bottle of rum from award sponsor The Kraken Rum.

Judges were Lauren Beukes, Rebecca Levene, Anne C. Perry, and Jared Shurin. Judges for the art award were Darren Banks, Hayley Campbell, Catherine Hemelryk, Craig Kennedy, and Anne C. Perry. For more:


Pingback from SF Tidbits for 2/7/12 – SF Signal – A Speculative Fiction Blog
Time Mon 6 February 2012 at 10:06 pm

[…] 2011 Kitschies Winners. […]

Pingback from Science Fiction Awards Watch » Blog Archive » Kitshcies Winners Announced
Time Tue 7 February 2012 at 6:56 am

[…] February 7th, 2012 by Editors On Locus. Here […]

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.