The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for March, 2012

Peter Phillips (1920-2012)

Writer Peter Phillips, 92, died March 28, 2012, according to his son-in-law. Born January 1, 1920 in London, Phillips was active as an SF writer from the late ’40s to the late ’50s, publishing just 21 stories. His most famous work is “Dreams Are Sacred” (1948), one of the earliest stories about entering the mind […]

Christine Brooke-Rose (1923-2012)

Novelist and scholar Christine Brooke-Rose, 89, died March 21, 2012 in Avignon, France. Brooke-Rose is known for her experimental novels, which include some works of SF, including The Middlemen: A Satire (1961), Out (1964), Such (1966), the Computer Quartet — Amalgamemnon (1984), Xorandor (1986), Verbivore (1990), and Textermination (1991) — and Subscript (1999). She also […]

Carnegie and Greenaway Finalists

The prestigious 2012 Carnegie Medal, awarded to “the most outstanding book for children” published in the UK, and the Kate Greenaway Medal, for the best illustrated books, have announced their shortlists. Genre finalists include David Almond’s My Name is Mina (Hodder Children’s), Andy Mulligan’s Trash (David Fickling), and Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls (Walker) for […]

Webster Wins SFWA Service Award

Clarence Howard “Bud” Webster has been awarded the 2012 Service to SFWA Award,  given at the discretion of the president and with board approval to a member of SFWA who best exemplifies the ideal of service to his or her fellow members. Webster is being honored for his volunteer work on the Estate Project, which […]

2012 Clarke Award Finalists

The six titles on the 2011 Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist have been announced: Hull Zero Three, Greg Bear (Gollancz) The End Specialist, Drew Magary (Harper Voyager) Embassytown, China Miéville (Macmillan) The Testament of Jessie Lamb, Jane Rogers (Sandstone Press) Rule 34, Charles Stross (Orbit) The Waters Rising, Sheri S. Tepper (Gollancz) This year’s judges are Juliet […]

2012 Lambda Awards SF/F/H Shortlist

The Lambda Literary Foundation has announced the shortlist for the 24th Annual Lambda Literary Awards, celebrating excellence in LGBT literature in a wide variety of categories, including SF: SF/Fantasy/Horror The German, Lee Thomas (Lethe) Paradise Tales: and Other Stories, Geoff Ryman (Small Beer) Static, L.A. Witt & Amber Allure (Amber Quill Press) Steam-powered: Lesbian Steampunk […]

Strange Horizions Adds Brit Mandelo as Fiction Editor

Strange Horizons has announced that Brit Mandelo will be joining Senior Fiction Editor Jed Hartman in their fiction department. Mandelo is an anthologist and critic whose work has appeared in, Ideomancer, and Clarkesworld. Current Editor-in-Chief Niall Harrison said of Mandelo’s appointment, “I’ve been a big fan of Brit’s writing over the last couple of […]

2011 Aurealis Awards Finalists

Finalists have been announced for the 2011 Aurealis Awards, honoring SF, fantasy, and horror by Australians: Best Science Fiction Novel Machine Man, Max Barry (Scribe) Children of Scarabaeus, Sara Creasy (Harper Voyager) The Waterboys, Peter Docker (Fremantle) Black Glass, Meg Mundell (Scribe) The Courier’s New Bicycle, Kim Westwood (Harper Voyager) Best Science Fiction Short Story […]

2012 Philip K. Dick Award Judges

The five judges for the 2012 Philip K. Dick Award have been announced. Works of science fiction originally published as paperbacks in the US during the year 2012 are eligible for the award. Bruce Bethke, PO Box 28094, Oakdale MN 55128-0094 Sydney Duncan, 38 Teaberry Lane, Frostburg MD 21532-2301 Daryl Gregory, 1895 South Allen St., […]

London Bid Unopposed for 2014 Worldcon

London has been confirmed as the sole bidder to host the 2014 WorldCon. The official documents were filed with Chicon 7, the 2012 WorldCon, shortly before the deadline of March 2, 2012. The bid was jointly chaired by Steve Cooper and Mike Scott, and the proposed dates of the convention are August 14-18, 2014. For […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.