The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for April, 2012

2012 Science Fiction Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2012 inductees to the Science Fiction Hall of Fame are Joe Haldeman, James Tiptree, Jr., James Cameron, and Virgil Finlay. The Science Fiction Hall of Fame display will reopen as part of the Icons of Science Fiction exhibit at the Experience Music Project Museum, formerly known as the Experience Music Project/Science Fiction Museum, on […]

HWA to Host WHC 2013

The World Horror Convention 2013 will be hosted by the Horror Writers Association and will be part of the Bram Stoker Awards weekend in New Orleans, June 13-16, 2013. For more information, see The Bram Stoker Awards Weekend incorporating World Horror Convetion 2013 website.  

WINSFA Announces New van Vogt Award

In commemoration of 100 year anniversary of the birth of Canadian SF writer A.E. van Vogt, the Winnipeg Science Fiction Association Inc. (WINSFA) has announced the creation of the A.E. van Vogt Award. The award will spotlight Canadian SF and will consist of a presentation piece and a monetary prize, with an award ceremony in […]

2012 Edgar Winners

The 2012 Edgar Award winners were presented by the Mystery Writers of America for the best mystery fiction, non-fiction, and television produced in 2011. The Company Man by Robert Jackson Bennett (Orbit US) won for Best Paperback Original, and Michael Dirda’s On Conan Doyle: Or, the Whole Art of Storytelling won in the Best Critical/Biographical category. Awards […]

2012 Ditmar Awards Ballot

The 2012 Ditmar Awards ballot, for Australian SF, has been announced: Best Novel Debris (The Veiled Worlds 1), Jo Anderton (Angry Robot) Burn Bright, Marianne de Pierres (Random House Australia) The Shattered City (Creature Court 2), Tansy Rayner Roberts (HarperCollins) Mistification, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot) The Courier’s New Bicycle, Kim Westwood (HarperCollins) Best Novella or […]

Tor to Drop E-Book DRM

Tor Books president and publisher Tom Doherty has announced the company will stop selling e-books encrypted with digital rights management (DRM) software starting this July. This change encompasses the Tor, Forge, Orb, Starscape, and Tor Teen lines. Doherty wrote, “Our authors and readers have been asking for this for a long time… They’re a technically sophisticated […]

Shirley Jackson Awards Finalists

The 2011 Shirley Jackson Awards nominees have been announced. The awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction. Novel The Great Lover, Michael Cisco (Chômu) The Last Werewolf, Glen Duncan (Canongate) Witch on the Road Tonight, Sheri Holman (Grove) Knock Knock, S.P. Miskowski (Omnium Gatherum) The Dracula Papers, Reggie […]

SFRA Awards

This year’s Science Fiction Research Association award winners were announced by SFRA president Ritch Calvin: Pilgrim Award (for life time contributions to SF/F studies): Pamela Sargent Pioneer Award (for outstanding essay-length work of the year): Winner: “Toward a Cosmopolitan Science Fiction”, David M. Higgins (American Literature 6/11) Honorable Mention: “The Predisposed Agency of Genomic Fiction”, Everett Hamner (American […]

K.D. Wentworth (1951-2012)

Writer and editor K.D. Wentworth, 61, died April 18, 2012 of pneumonia, following a period of ill health brought on by her struggle with cervical cancer in Tulsa OK. Kathy Diane Wentworth was born January 27, 1951 in Tulsa OK, and entered the field by winning the Writer’s of the Future contest in 1988, and […]

2012 Aurora Award Nominees

Finalists for the 2012 Prix Aurora Awards, celebrating the best Canadian SF/fantasy work, have been announced. PROFESSIONAL AWARDS Best Novel Enter Night, Michael Rowe (ChiZine) Eutopia: A Novel of Terrible Optimism, David Nickle (ChiZine) Napier’s Bones, Derryl Murphy (ChiZine) The Pattern Scars, Caitlin Sweet (ChiZine) Technicolor Ultra Mall, Ryan Oakley (EDGE) WWW: Wonder, Robert J. Sawyer […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.