The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2011 BSFA Award Winners

Winners of the 2011 BSFA Awards have been announced:

Best Novel

  • The Islanders, Christopher Priest (Gollancz)
  • Cyber Circus, Kim Lakin-Smith (Newcon Press)
  • Embassytown, China Miéville (Macmillan)
  • By Light Alone, Adam Roberts (Gollancz)
  • Osama, Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)

Best Short Fiction

  • “The Copenhagen Interpretation”, Paul Cornell (Asimov’s July 2011)
  • “The Silver Wind”, Nina Allan (Interzone #233)
  • “Afterbirth”, Kameron Hurley (
  • “Covehithe”, China Miéville (The Guardian)
  • “Of Dawn”, Al Robertson (Interzone #235)

Best Non-Fiction

  • The SF Encyclopedia, 3rd Edition, John Clute, Peter Nicholls, David Langford, & Graham Sleight, eds. (SF Gateway)
  • Out of This World: Science Fiction But Not as We Know It, Mike Ashley (British Library)
  • Review of Arslan, M.J. Engh & Abigail Nussbaum (Asking the Wrong Questions blog)
  • SF Mistressworks, Ian Sales, ed. (SF Mistressworks)
  • Pornokitsch, Jared Shurin & Anne Perry, eds. (Pornokitsch)
  • The Unsilent Library: Essays on the Russell T. Davies Era of the New Doctor Who, Graham Sleight, Tony Keen, & Simon Bradshaw (Science Fiction Foundation)

Best Art

  • Cover of Ian Whates’s The Noise Revealed, Dominic Harman (Solaris)
  • Cover and illustrations of Patrick Ness’s A Monster Calls, Jim Kay (Walker)
  • Cover of Lavie Tidhar’s Osama, Pedro Marques (PS Publishing)
  • Cover of Liz Williams’s A Glass of Shadow, Anne Sudworth (Newcon Press)

The awards are voted on by members of BSFA and the British Annual Science Fiction Convention (Eastercon). Winners were announced during the 2012 Eastercon, held April 6-9, 2012 at the Radisson Edwardian Hotel, Heathrow, London.


Pingback from Christopher Priest's The Islanders Wins BFSA Award for Best Novel | Barking Book Reviews
Time Tue 17 April 2012 at 1:37 am

[…] short in sweet. As in, here are the awards, with no further commentary. Except that is, to praise Locus, which had the BFSA award winners list posted even before the BFSA folk posted them on their site; guess they are still recovering from […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.