The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Paget Wins 2011 James White Award

The James White Award Short Story competition has announced that this year’s winner is “Invocation of the Lurker” by Colum Paget. Paget wins £200 plus publication in Interzone.

In addition, this year’s panel of judges, Andrew Hedgecock, Jon Courtenay Grimwood, Juliet E. McKenna, and Andy Cox, decided to award a special commendation to a second story, “Train in Vain” by Tori Truslow.

The James White Award is an annual short story competition open to non-professional writers with the winner chosen by a panel of judges made up of professional authors and editors. Story submissions must be original and previously unpublished, and entry is free.

The winner was announced during the BSFA Awards ceremony at Eastercon 2012.

For more information, see the James White Award site.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.