The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Shirley Jackson Awards Finalists

The 2011 Shirley Jackson Awards nominees have been announced. The awards are presented for outstanding achievement in horror, psychological suspense, and dark fantasy fiction.


  • The Great Lover, Michael Cisco (Chômu)
  • The Last Werewolf, Glen Duncan (Canongate)
  • Witch on the Road Tonight, Sheri Holman (Grove)
  • Knock Knock, S.P. Miskowski (Omnium Gatherum)
  • The Dracula Papers, Reggie Oliver (Chômu)
  • The Devil All the Time, Donald Ray Pollock (Douleday)


  • “And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living”, Deborah Biancotti (Ishtar)
  • “Near Zennor”, Elizabeth Hand (A Book of Horrors)
  • “Displacement”, Michael Marano (Stories from the Plague Years)
  • “A Child’s Problem”, Reggie Oliver (A Book of Horrors)
  • “Rose Street Attractors”, Lucius Shepard (Ghosts by Gaslight)
  • The Men Upstairs, Tim Waggoner (Delirium)


  • “The Summer People”, Kelly Link (Tin House 49; Steampunk!)
  • “Omphalos”, Livia Llewellyn (Engines of Desire: Tales of Love & Other Horrors)
  • “Ditch Witch”, Lucius Shepard (Supernatural Noir)
  • “The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine”, Peter Straub (Conjunctions 56)

Short Story

  • “Hair”, Joan Aiken (The Monkey’s Wedding and Other Stories)
  • “Sunbleached”, Nathan Ballingrud (Teeth)
  • “Absolute Zero”, Nadia Bulkin (Creatures: Thirty Years of Monsters)
  • “Max”, Jason Ockert (The Iowa Review 41/1)
  • “The Corpse Painter’s Masterpiece”, M. Rickert (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, Sept/ Oct 2011)
  • “Things to Know About Being Dead”, Genevieve Valentine (Teeth)

 Single-Author Collection

  • Red Gloves, Christopher Fowler (PS)
  • The Janus Tree, Glen Hirshberg (Subterranean)
  • Engines of Desire: Tales of Love & Other Horrors, Livia Llewellyn (Lethe)
  • After the Apocalypse: Stories, Maureen R. McHugh (Small Beer)
  • The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares, Joyce Carol Oates (Mysterious Press)
  • What Wolves Know, Kit Reed (PS)

Edited Anthology

  • Ghosts by Gaslight, Jack Dann & Nick Gevers, eds. (Harper Voyager)
  • Blood and Other Cravings, Ellen Datlow, ed, (Tor)
  • Supernatural Noir, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Dark Horse)
  • Teeth, Ellen Datlow & Terri Windling, eds. (HarperCollins)
  • A Book of Horrors, Stephen Jones,  ed. (Jo Fletcher)
  • The Thackery T. Lambshead Cabinet of Curiosities, Ann & Jeff VanderMeer (Harper Voyager)

The awards will be presented at Readercon 23 in Burlington, Massachusetts, July 12-15, 2012.

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.