The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2017 finalists

2017 winners

Indexed results at



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

Archive for May, 2012

World Horror 2013 Guests of Honor Announced

The Horror Writers Association has announced Guests of Honor for the Bram Stoker Awards Weekend 2013, incorporating the annual World Horror Convention. Guests include editor John Joseph Adams and authors Ramsey Campbell, Caitlín R. Kiernan, and Jonathan Maberry. Author Jeff Strand will emcee the 2013 Bram Stoker Awards Banquet, and act as toastmaster. The convention […]

Momentum Books Going DRM-free

Pan Macmillan Australia’s digital-only imprint Momentum announced that, starting in August, their titles will be released DRM-free. Momentum Books is the first imprint from a major Australian publisher to drop DRM and follows on the heels of similar announcements from Momentum’s sister companies Tor US and Tor UK.

Pratchett Wins Wodehouse

Sir Terry Pratchett’s novel Snuff was named the winner of the 2012 Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction. The Wodehouse award, given for fiction that best captures the comic spirit of PG Wodehouse, includes a jeroboam of Bollinger Special Cuvee, a case of Bollinger La Grande Annee, a set of Everyman Wodehouse collection, and […]

Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire 2012

The winners of the Grand Prix de l’Imaginaire 2012 awards were announced at the Étonnants Voyageurs convention, held May 26-28 2012 in Saint-Malo, France. French Novel Rêves de Gloire, Rolanc C. Wagner (L’Atalante) Avant le déluge, Raphaël Albert (Mnémos) Léviathan : La Chute, Lionel Davoust (Don Quichotte) Bankgreen, Thierry Di Rollo (Le Bélial’) Narcogenèse, Anne Fakhouri […]

Leo Dillon (1933-2012)

Artist Leo Dillon, 79, died May 26, 2012. Dillon is best known for his professional and personal partnership with wife Diane Dillon (née Sorber) — they are the only artist team to jointly win a Hugo for Best Professional Artist (1971). They have worked extensively in various fields of commercial art, creating album covers, holiday […]

McCarthy Wins 2012 Compton Crook Award

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society has announced that T.C. McCarthy’s Germline (Orbit) is the winner of the 2012 Compton Crook/Stephen Tall Award. The award, which honors the best first SF/fantasy/horror novel of the year, will be presented at Balticon 46, where McCarthy will receive an award plaque and check for $1,000 on May 25, 2012, during the convention’s opening ceremonies. Selection […]

2012 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the 2011 Mythopoeic Award finalists. Winners will be announced at Mythcon 43, August 3-6, 2012, in Berkeley, California. Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature: The Uncertain Places, Lisa Goldstein (Tachyon) The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern (Doubleday) The Heavenly Fox, Richard Parks (PS) Deathless, Catherynne M. Valente (Tor) Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor) Mythopoeic Fantasy Award […]

2012 Sturgeon Award Finalists

The finalists for the 2012 Theodore Sturgeon Memorial Award have been announced: “Six Months, Three Days”, Charlie Jane Anders ( 6/8/11) “The Copenhagen Interpretation”, Paul Cornell (Asimov’s 7/11) “Ghostweight”, Yoon Ha Lee (Clarkesworld 1/11) “The Old Equations”, Jake Kerr (Lightspeed 7/11) “The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary”, Ken Liu (Panverse Three) “The Paper Menagerie”, […]

Asimov’s Readers’ / AnLab Awards

The Asimov’s Readers’ Awards and the Analog 2011 AnLab Awards were presented at a breakfast celebration on May 19, 2012 during the Nebula Awards Weekend in Arlington VA. The winners of Analog’s Analytical Laboratory (AnLab) Awards are: Best Novella “With Unclean Hands” by Adam-Troy Castro (11/11) Best Novelette (tie) “Betty Knox and Dictionary Jones in […]

SFWA Election Results

The results of the SFWA officers’ election were announced during the 2012 Nebula Awards Weekend (May 17-20, 2012 in Arlington VA) at the SFWA business meeting. President: John Scalzi Vice President: Rachel Swirsky Secretary: Ann Leckie Treasurer: Bud Sparhawk West Coast Representative: Jim Fiscus Canadian Representative: Matthew Johnson For more information, see SF Site or […]

© 2011-2017 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.