The Magazine and Website of Science Fiction & Fantasy Field

Locus Online
Sub Menu contents

Recent Posts




Send items, updates, or corrections for this page to

Awards Calendar

2015 winners

2015 finalists:

2014 winners:

2013 Winners

[* links to sfadb pages with nominee indexing and cover images]



This blog is hosted by WordPress beginning April 2010, with re-initialized categories and tags. Labels listed below apply to the earlier, Blogger-hosted posts.

Labels for Earlier Posts

2012 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the 2011 Mythopoeic Award finalists. Winners will be announced at Mythcon 43, August 3-6, 2012, in Berkeley, California.

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature:

  • The Uncertain Places, Lisa Goldstein (Tachyon)
  • The Night Circus, Erin Morgenstern (Doubleday)
  • The Heavenly Fox, Richard Parks (PS)
  • Deathless, Catherynne M. Valente (Tor)
  • Among Others, Jo Walton (Tor)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature:

  • Théâtre Illuminata series: Eyes Like Stars, Perchance to Dream, and So Silver Bright, Lisa Mantchev (Feiwel and Friends)
  • Beka Cooper trilogy: Terrier, Bloodhound, and Mastiff, Tamora Pierce (Random House)
  • The Freedom Maze, Delia Sherman (Big Mouth House)
  • The Scorpio Races, Maggie Stiefvater (Scholastic)
  • The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making, Catherynne M. Valente (Feiwel and Friends)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies:

  • Tolkien and the Study of His Sources: Critical Essays, Jason Fisher, ed. (McFarland, 2011)
  • The Art of the Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, Wayne G. Hammond & Christina Scull (HarperCollins, 2011)
  • Tolkien and Wales: Language, Literature and Identity, Carl Phelpstead (University of Wales, 2011)
  •  C.S. Lewis on the Final Frontier: Science and the Supernatural in the Space Trilogy, Sanford Schwartz (Oxford University, 2009)
  • The Power of Tolkien’s Prose: Middle-earth’s Magical Style, Steve Walker (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies:

  • Fairy Tales: A New History, Ruth B. Bottigheimer (SUNY, 2009)
  • The Christian Goddess: Archetype and Theology in the Fantasies of George MacDonald, Bonnie Gaarden (Fairleigh Dickinson University, 2011)
  • Cheek by Jowl, Ursula K. Le Guin (Aqueduct, 2009)
  • The Fantastic Horizon: Essays and Reviews, Darrell Schweitzer (Borgo, 2009)
  • The Enchanted Screen: The Unknown History of Fairy-Tale Films, Jack Zipes (Routledge, 2011)


Pingback from I Think “Gobsmacked” Just About Covers It | Richard Parks
Time Thu 24 May 2012 at 7:06 am

[…] I will admit that I am completely gobsmacked to learn that The Heavenly Fox is a finalist for the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award in the Adult Literature […]

© 2011-2015 by Locus Publications. All rights reserved. Powered by WordPress, modified from a theme design by Lorem Ipsum.